Garden Experiment

61GYA0YtnzL.jpg

So I’ve been reading Will Bonsall’s “Essential Guide To Radical, Self Reliant Gardening” and I’ve come across some information that I’ve never heard before.

To lay the scene a little bit, Will gardens in Maine, that means he’s about Zone 4 or 3. With that in mind, he’s planting carrots, parsnips, rutabagas, brassicas and onions outside before most people even sow them indoors. I was really interested in to find this out and I think it could really ramp up our production!

Here in our area we’ve been above 50F for the past week and we are forecasted to be above 45F for the remainder of the month (usually above 50F). Because of this I have been planting some crops really early. I have sown broccoli, kale and chard already in a cold frame, my hope is to snag some early veg before the cabbage moths come on the scene. These are extremely cold hardy crops that actually like to freeze, so I’m hoping they do well.

On top of that, I’m going to take Bonsall’s advice and plant carrots, parsnips and onion sets today (possibly rutabagas). I’ve got an entire bed dedicated to these three crops alone, so I figured it would be a good way to try and get some early crops! I may even throw some radishes in there for fun as well.

I know many of you read my “Transparency” article. To be honest, I’m overjoyed at being forecasted “Much Above Average” temps all the way into June, we could really use the food. Since I have yet to hear from any employer I’ve applied to, I’m just going to put my full attention into gardening early getting some fresh veg. I’ll do whatever I can to get us some extra produce from the garden!

After building our chicken coop (which I will post about) I have some extra plywood. I think I’ll be using it to build a permanent cold frame. I’ll have to have dad come by with this skill saw again!

Here’s to a warm and happy spring!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Widdershins says:

    Sounds like things are starting to move again for you … hope so. šŸ™‚

    1. I’m hoping too…our financial situation hasn’t gotten any better, but I’m trying to make it work nonetheless.

  2. We’ve also been warmer than usual here, so I think I’m going to do the same thing. I’ll get some row covers on stuff but the cold hardier stuff will likely be okay, I think. As a climate justice activist warmer temps do worry me, but that’s no reason not to make the best of it in order to help yourself make it in this unpredictable world! Plus, planting things can only help.

    1. I agree. This unusually warm winter we’ve had here in Michigan is a little unnerving, but at the same time, me planting more thing can only help the climate issue, so I’ll just plant away!

  3. Anjmacz says:

    seems its been warm everywhere this year. We are months ahead of the typical weather here in western MT

    1. Same here. My whole life has been snow in March, rainy/snow mix in April and finally over 50F consistently in May. This year we’ve been over 50F since the beginning of March and we’re projected to stay that way until June when it will be warm anyway.

Leave a Reply

