Glad to be a Homesteader

It’s days like today I’m glad to be a homesteader.

Last night our area here in Michigan received over a foot of heavy, wet snow. Today it shows no signs of going anywhere. There were heavy winds, which means the back roads and some main roads are drifted over. some of the drifts are reaching 3 to 4 feet.

We are drifted into our house, our cars aren’t going anywhere. Justin had to shovel his way to the chickens this morning to do chores and in some places the snow was up to his knees.

As I peruse Facebook I see everyone losing their minds. People are screaming about being snowed in and begging to be plowed out (of course everyone wants it for free). Snow plow people are taking advantage of the chaos and upping their prices. It’s a giant mess.

As I sit here I realize it’s so wonderful to be even marginally self sufficient. Justin works from home, so we don’t have to worry about that. We have food stored, our stove is propane, we have flashlights and candles and matches. We’re completely fine.

Everyone buys all these giant McMansions and they are finally forced to spend a day in the house and they lose their minds. Seems pretty silly to me.

So yeah, on days like this, I’m glad to be a homesteader.

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

P.S. Don’t forget about our “Permaculture Nursery” Campaign! We need your donations to make our goal! 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Widdershins says:

    Because there’s so much information out there about how to prepare for extreme weather events, and how easy it is to get it, I have to believe in the adage, ‘In the age of Information, ignorance is a choice’. Glad you’re both all cosy. 🙂

    1. I would have to agree with that. Everyone out here is still losing their minds 3 days later. It’s amazing how little most people are prepared for any slight inconvenience.

  2. Bairleafarm says:

    I see the same thing. Shut down with a foot of snow is nice every now and then. It let’s me get caught up with the little things around here. I also like how everyone rushes to get supplies when they hear of a storm coming. I’ve got bushes of food canned and supplies on hand. It’s a nice feeling knowing that my semi self sustainability keeps us prepared.

Leave a Reply

