We Need Your Help Building Our Business

Hey All,

I thought I would update you on what we’re working on. We’re really trying to make our homestead support us in multiple ways. And you can help us with that!

Etsy Shop

Our Etsy Shop is up and running with new items being added all the time. We’ve got seeds, handmade soaps and handmade crystal pendants. We appreciate your support in our endeavors! We’ve had enough soap sales that we’ll be introducing a couple new scents in the next month as well!

Nursery Plants

Justin and I decided to purchase 100 pots off Ebay and we’re going to sell potted plants this summer at the farmer’s market. We’ll be growing culinary herbs and a few black tomatoes as sure sellers. Our goal is to sell at least 50 to cover all our costs and make a little extra to invest for the following year.

Permaculture Plants

I’ve personally decided to go ahead and start propagating permaculture plants. This will include trees, perennials and biennials. This year I’ll be propagating Goji Berries, Michigan Mulberries and potentially Egyptian Walking Onions. Most of these will be up for sale once they are fully rooted and ready to go. I will let you know when they are ready!

Possible Crowdfunding Campaign

I’ve been putting together a crowdfunding campaign on Barnraiser (farming/permaculture based crowdfunding) for a new greenhouse and the Permaculture Plant business. Last year our greenhouse was destroyed by strong winds and we need to rebuild so we can run our seed/plant business. If you are interested in supporting us in this venture, please comment below. We will also need people to spread the word around.

We want to make this work and we need your help to get it done. There are perks and rewards for our supporters in the form of seeds and bare-rooted trees. There is a real lack of accessibility to seeds and plants produced in a better than organic environment. We don’t believe in becoming a large corporation, we will be staying small and keeping our practices top quality. We can’t do this alone though, we need your support to get started. We have a modest goal of $1000. This will build us a 24’x10′ hoop house for plant propagation and seedlings while also allowing us to invest in plant stock for a greater variety of offering.

Please, if this is something you wish to support, comment below and I will get things finalized and post it up. We need all the help we can get to spread the word!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Lydia Noyes says:

    My husband recently bought soap from your etsy shop! Lemon scented, I believe. 🙂

    1. How was it? I hope you enjoyed it!

      1. Lydia Noyes says:

        I’ll let you know…I just got it yesterday so it hasn’t been used yet.

  2. Have you tried growing succulents for market and/or Etsy? I feel like the interest in them is on the rise, and if you have a green thumb and some patience, you can grow multiple plants from one parent plant.

    1. I’ve never grown succulents, but I’m leaning toward fruit because it’s a frequently bought item and unsold plants can be used by us easily. We’ll be selling them on etsy to begin with. If we can boost sales we’ll open a legit site.

  3. butchcountry67 says:

    do you ship to Canada ? and do you use paypal ? …. if so I would be interested in buying multiples of your flower seeds , and on the off chance that you grow and harvest Giant and Super Giant sunflowers , I would be interested in buying those seeds in bulk ( 300 to 500 seeds) also any creeping Ivies , either way i would be interested in ordering some seeds from you guys and see how the plants do up here in the North , ( sunflowers do very well here) .

    1. We can do that, that’s no problem. Just tell me what you would like and I can put it together for you. I have no idea what shipping to Canada costs, but I can look it up first. We don’t have a ton of stock this year, but we’ll be a lot better off next year. If you like, you can email me at bcoffmanart@gmail.com

    2. Not gonna lie to you, shipping to Canada is really expensive. Just a first class envelope is $16

Leave a Reply

