30 Days without Soda

Hey all,

Well, I did it. I finally kicked the American habit of drinking soda. Granted, I wasn’t dependent like most Americans are, but I’m glad I’m off it anyway.

So, I decided at the beginning of the year that I would be kicking soda for good. Not only is it packed with sugar and caffeine, but it’s full of poisonous chemicals and preservatives. The acid is incredibly bad for your teeth and most of the drink is made from GMO products.

Besides those reasons, I wanted to make some healthy changes this year. Since I’m not the kind of person that enjoys forced exercise and I think gym memberships are a waste of money, I figured making changes to my eating habits would help me a lot.

I’m sure people want to know, do I see any changes? Well, I see a couple, but it’s not as drastic as others have made it out to be.

  1. I don’t crave soda anymore, but I still crave sweets. I’ve only had 1 or 2 passing cravings for soda in the past month and they didn’t last for more than 5 minutes. However, I do find myself making homemade sweets, but not any more often than I usually do. I have started to cut them into smaller section though so that they last longer and I get less sugar per serving.
  2. I’m not dependent on caffeine/sugar combo anymore. Usually I would buy soda as a “pick-me-up” and now I just don’t need one. I still drink black tea at home, but it’s not everyday and it’s usually a single cup.
  3. My wallet feels better. Soda is not a DIY product, so I don’t have it buy it now.
  4. My sleeping seems a bit less erratic now. I’m not sure if that’s the caffeine or the sugar or the chemicals or a combination of all three being cut out, but it is nice.

This will be a permanent change in my life. It started because my favorite soda (Mountain Dew, don’t judge) started to taste bad. I found myself buying bottles and only being able to finish a quarter of them. So instead of wasting the money, I switched to Root Beer. However, after learning about all the chemicals and being more determined, I gave it all up.

Either way, it’s gone and it’s out of my system. Chances are I’ll probably live longer now and my body will start to cycle out all the shit I’ve been ingesting for years. Nobody should be drinking this stuff, it’s probably the worst food you can eat.

Let me know if you take the challenge!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. hammonjonnie says:

    I stopped the soda once, but started again 6 months later. Now you have inspired me to do it again. Next will be the sugar detox. I already drink coffee, and teas, with no sugar, I stay away from juices because of the added sugar. Being diabetic, makes it easier to avoid sugar. Glad you stopped. You will see a big difference very soon.

    1. I hope so! I try to avoid added sugars in juices as well, but we do like the ‘Simply’ brand, I’m not sure if sugar is added…I don’t think it is. Good luck on your journey!

  2. I’ve tried to ditch soda several times, though the first time around I was successful at eliminating Mt. Dew. I usually end up re-hooking myself when a bad headache hits, for the almost instant caffeine rush. I hope you’re able to keep to your goal though, because I’m sure long-term you will be pleased with the standing results. 🙂

    1. Have you tried black tea? That’s pretty high in caffeine.

      1. Yeah, I usually have a cup or two of tea a day just for some variety from water, but it doesn’t usually help when one of the bad headaches hit.

      2. Gotcha. I’m not really sure what to say about that one.

  3. Monika says:

    Congrats on leaving soda, it will make an obvious change over time, when my hubby dropped sodas he lost 10kg in one year, so that is good.
    For headaches you could try an italian remedy: strong black coffee with lemon juice and no sugar, it tastes as bad as you think it does but it helps due to caffein and vitamin c 😉

Leave a Reply

