Libraries are NOT Dead: 52 Weeks of Tips

I repeat, libraries are not dead!

Many homesteaders know of this trick, but for those of you that don’t, let me enlighten you.

Local libraries are free. Some require that you live inside their municipality and some, like in my area, just want you to be in the county. These places are not only a wealth of information, but they usually have free access to the internet and movies to check out as well for free. It’s the best place to find entertainment if you don’t have a dime to spend.

Now I know what some of you are thinking, “My local library is too small and their gardening section sucks”. I’ll let you in on another secret that I find most people don’t actually know. Most libraries are connected by an interloan system on a state-wide level. For instance, in Michigan the system is called MEL, or Michgan eLibrary. With this system I can hop online and order any library book in the state. Not only will they ship it to the library for free, but once it arrives it’s mine for a full 3 weeks.

I order close to 5 books a month, if not more. All these books are hard to find or new releases in the homesteading section and they are delivered right to the library at no charge to me.

Stop by your local library and ask if they have and interloan system with other libraries, you may be surprised to find out you do!

Also, I might mention, for this amazing system, I try to support my library in any way I can. If they want a millage increase, I vote for it. I always donate my books to the library and since I use the library often, I boost their numbers and make them look better in the eyes of the state/county (which hopefully equals more funding).

So get out to your local library and save money by supporting them! That’s about as frugal as it gets!

 

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. At my local library my daughter is taking a free photography classes. They received a grant for the class. She is absolutely loving it.

    1. That’s awesome! Our library does a lot of workshops for very small children, I’m hoping to see them expand into adult education as well.

  2. Lucy & Brian says:

    I love love love libraries! It is mostly fiction I borrow, and every time I go in the amount of choice is overwhelming, there won’t ever be enough time to read all the things I want! Lucy

    1. I totally agree! I feel the same way about the gardening section!

Leave a Reply

