Garden/Plant Update 1-5-16

Hey all!

I’ve really wanted to write a post, but I haven’t known what to write about, so I thought I would give you an update on the plants in the house now. We’ve got fruit trees, wisteria, onions, moringa and catalpa trees all working on growing, so here’s a quick tour!

0106161110.jpg

These are Catalpa trees (12) and Eucalyptus (2) sprouting on the pellet stove. I hope they sprout soon, we could really use the trees!

0106161239a.jpg

The Wisteria is starting to grow in the house. That should be fun to deal with.

The figs and the lemon tree are doing well! Lot’s of new growth coming on!

0106161436.jpg

These are 3 of the 5 Cocoa trees (big pots), the six rosemary cuttings I took from last years plant for this spring and the 2 Chicago Hardy Figs that are putting on new growth. Those will be planted in the tire garden come spring.

0106161436b.jpg

Here we have my watering jug, the other Cocoa trees, the geranium from this past year, still growing, and my sweet potato vines. Those little pots on the heating pad have moringa seeds in them while the green pot has a tulip bulb in it that I’m trying to preserve. It’s a wonderful color.

0106161436c.jpg

These are my two flats of onions I started a few weeks ago. They will be cut off from water come March to dry out and then I’ll have my own set of home-grown onion sets! This way I get to itch the growing bug and I get onions that put on seeds.

 

Well that’s what’s going on over here! More to come soon I’m sure!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. this is so cool! Baby trees in such variety

  2. afarmingartist says:

    I am inspired to plant, now! In Missouri we are just now getting into winter. Thank you for your update.

    1. We were supposed to start winter back in December or even November (that’s what usually happens), but this year we didn’t start until January.
      Happy Planting!

Leave a Reply

