Thai Coconut Rice—RECIPE

img95201512119518245505395hdr.jpg

Hello Everyone!

I wanted to share this awesome recipe with you. This is probably the best rice I’ve ever had in my life and I know you will like it.

Spoiler: It DOES NOT taste like coconut.

This is extremely simple.

Ingredients:

1 3/4 Cup Water
1 Can (13.5 oz.) Coconut Milk
1 tsp. Salt
2 Cups White Rice (not instant or par-boiled)
1-2 Tbs. Chopped Scallions

Alright, hold on tight, this is super complicated.

  1. Bring Water, Salt and Coconut milk to a boil in a medium saucepan. Break up coconut cream chunks if they don’t melt fast enough for your liking.
  2. Add Rice and simmer, covered, for 15-20 minutes or until almost all the water is gone. It will look a bit wet.
  3. Remove from heat and let sit 5 minutes covered.
  4. Stir in chopped scallions and serve. Salt to taste if you need it (although you probably won’t).

 

That’s it. It’s done. Literally just throw all of it in a pot and forget about it until the timer goes off.

If you have a hard time finding coconut milk, it’s usually in the Asian section at the grocery store. Don’t buy the “lite” stuff either. Just get regular coconut milk.

Cooking Tip: Be sure to simmer rice on low heat. Burnt rice is the #1 complaint from anti-rice-cooking people. It’s not hard to do, just make sure it’s very low heat. My propane burner is almost off when I do rice. I can just see the flames.

 

Enjoy! If you make it, let me know what you think!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jonnie says:

    I would love to make it. Do you think it would work with brown rice? I am not allowed white rice, because I am diabetic.

    1. It probably would work with brown rice but you’ll need more water and it will take a lot longer. Usually brown rice is a 1:2 ratio of rice to water respectively. If you made 2 cups of brown rice it would probably take 1 can of coconut milk and 3 cups of water. It would also probably need to simmer for a while longer, maybe 25-35 mins? I would just play it by ear the first time and adjust as you go. That’s my best guess.

Leave a Reply

