Tire Garden

Hello Everyone!

Let me introduce you to our totally free, completely ingenious tire garden!

This is my solution to our problem with the Savannah.

Problem #1–Too Wet—These tires will lift the plants above the saturated ground and keep them from being soaked all the time.

Problem #2–Too Cold—Frost and cold air really settles here, this will not only raise the plants up from the ground, but the tires will hold thermal mass, keeping it warmer around the plants.

Problem #3–Rotting—Any wooden raised beds in this area will rot extremely fast due to the wet. Tires don’t really rot, so we won’t have to worry about replacing them.

1125152112.jpg

I advertised for these tires on Facebook and found a guy with a whole barn full of racing tires. He said he would be more than happy to bring us tires so I had him bring me 20! We found another 6 close by last week that were already here.

These tires were not only a problem solver for the Savannah, but also for a couple plants that need protection. I plan on growing sweet potatoes in some of the tires and just lifting the tire away at the end of the season to get the potatoes.

I also plan on dedicating two of the tires to my new Fig trees! These figs are Chicago Hardy Figs and they are rated to Zone 5. In Zone 5 they experience total winter die-back, but regrow enough in the summer to produce brown figs. Not only will the tires keep them warmer, but it may protect more of the stem from winter die-back. I’m really excited to get these little guys going this coming spring. It’s my new “exotic” project. I got these two from Hirts Gardens for $10 each.

My other figs have been transplanted into bigger pots and are being kept inside since they are only rated to Zone 8. They are a black, french variety of fig.

1202151506a.jpg

Other than that, I’ve got these little guys growing! Asparagus! These are the wild-collected seeds I gathered earlier this summer. I’ve got 3 up so far. The reason I’m choosing to grow asparagus from seed, especially this kind, is because it grows all over around here (just not right next to my house, that would be too convenient). This plant is already acclimated to our climate and thrives in overgrown areas. I have high hopes for it’s quick growth and production.

These plants won’t be as prolific as male-only, hybrid asparagus, but they will provide us with more asparagus than we need and they will provide food for the birds as berries from the female plants. I’m more concerned about preserving this naturally occurring species than having over-productive, sterile asparagus. Trying to keep it more natural here.

 

Well, that’s what’s been going on this week! Saturday Justin and I are going out to a hot tub garden for Christmas! (my gift to him) I’m pretty excited for that!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Edith says:

    That little baby asparagus is so teenie and cute!! Let us know how they do! I didn’t realize it grew in the wild! 🙂

    1. Yeah! They are all over the roadsides here. We have a couple of small patches on our property which is where I got the seeds.

Leave a Reply

