Quails Hatching!

Hey Everyone!

Well, we finally had some quails hatch! Yesterday (Oct. 27th) was Day #20 and we had our first chick hatch. He struggled, but he made it!

12049293_10208197791611251_219651539379133907_n

This first chick was born about 12:30pm so we were both around to watch him hatch, which was pretty awesome.

12063626_10208201520544472_4880951574652812215_n

This second little guy was born about 5am this morning while we were asleep.

I’ve moved both chicks to the brooder and showed them their water and food. We’re still waiting on the rest of them. I’ve seen about 6 more eggs wiggle, so I’m anticipating a few more. If anyone knows about this stuff, should I attempt to help them at all? I’m pretty sure I’m supposed to stay out of it, but I am a bit worried about them.

Here’s to a decent hatch!

And chicken eggs will be here tomorrow to go in the incubator as well!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve hatched eggs before. Not really, as I had a broody hen setting on them. Just let them do what they do and keep the new birds warm.

  2. Resist the urge to help. I know it’s hard but they have to struggle to get their strength (there’s a life lesson there). I put little marbles in the water dish to keep them from drowning. Also be sure the ground is not slippery or they could develop deformities in their little feet. Yay!!!

    1. I put paper towel down in the incubator to give them some traction and the water dish has those little glass and river stones in it. The two born so far are doing really well!

  3. butchcountry67 says:

    I grew up on a chicken/turkey farm , you have to not touch the eggs or help the wee guys , they have to hatch on their own, not only does it build strength , they are eating what’s left of the nutrients in the egg, handling them before they are hatched could compromise their immune systems, I know it is hard, but you have to let nature take it’s course.

  4. Rosie says:

    What cute lil nuggets!

  5. Yeah, don’t help them out. It sucks, but if they don’t make it out there’s a reason.

Leave a Reply

