3yo Girl has Type 2 Diabetes in Texas

Here is the Original Article

I have so many things to say about this, I don’t even know where to start.

  1. This is what the american food system does to people. Not only are foods packed full of sugars and fats to appease the ruined taste buds of the nation, but they are the cheaper alternative to real food. None of these products are real food, but they are cheap and they taste good.
  2. This is a direct result of “industrial agriculture”. Want to know where that sugar came from? Corn. Want to know where all the fat and oil came from? Soy. Want to know where the excessive carbs came from? Processed wheat. There are literally towns full of people near me who scoff at organics, scoff at eating healthy foods and say “I’m a farmer because I want to feed the world”. This is the result of your thinking. Congrats.
  3. I can almost guarantee you that these parents are on welfare or they are very poor. The current welfare system is a mess. There is not enough aid given to provide the people in need with fresh, nutritious foods, but there is plenty of money given for them to live off of little debbie snacks and mountain dew for a month. There is nothing wrong with needing help, I don’t care if they are on welfare. I’m upset that the welfare system is so ridiculous. Justin and I were on food stamps once and we got $130 a month. I spent it all on meat and raw materials to make other things with, but it didn’t go far. If we had to live off of that $130 only, I could have fed us easily, in excess, on processed food. Why are we so willing to dole out help when it’s not really helping anyone, but we don’t give help to those who take their health seriously?
  4. As much as I want to say these parents should have their child taken away, chances are they have NO idea that they are eating extremely wrong OR they have no other choice. Even organic farms around here are not possible to participate with unless you are middle class or higher. No one on food stamps or in poverty can afford $4/lb organic chicken or a bushel of organic apples for $35. It’s just not possible.

There are just so many things wrong with this whole situation. We find ourselves in it all the time. I want to buy all our pork and chicken from the farm we get our raw milk from. I know it’s better for us, it’s humanely raised, it’s organic, it’s everything I want in food. There is absolutely no way we could afford it. It’s not the farm’s fault at all. Organic is a hot topic right now, so they have to pay 2-5 times as much for organic feed, 2-5 times as much for organic chicks and then they have to deal with the same diseases and loss to predators as everyone else, but their options to fix it are more expensive and less available.

Farming is a business and I would never ask someone to sell me something for less than what they put into it, but I won’t lie and say it’s affordable, because it’s not.

So what should we do? Obviously the food system and welfare system are destroyed. Welfare did make a step in the right direction and added seeds to the approved list for food stamps. Unfortunately, I’ve never met a single city person on food stamps in my life that knew how to garden. So the gov’t says “spend your food money on stamps and grow your own”, which is noble, but then there are no programs to teach these people anything about growing food. What a mess.

 

So, what are your thoughts on the subject? I understand welfare and agriculture are big political topics, so please be respectful to one another!

Don’t forget to subscribe

Ben

8 Comments Add yours

  1. It is a mess, and I as a parent feel that it is more the parent’s fault than anything. We are responsible for bringing our children up healthily. They are children, they have no idea how to choose the right foods, they eat what we feed them. My wife is always saying that there should be a mandatory parenting and nutrition class to get a high school diploma. I agree with her whole-heartedly on that.

    As a parent who has been on food stamps, with a large family, I can say that in fact when you have children they give you PLENTY OF MONEY to eat healthily. I understand that as an adult with no children they won’t help you out as much, but here we are talking about families with children. It is cheaper to live on Mountain Dew and Twinkies if you are comparing it to steak and shrimp. But if you can bring common sense into it and base each meal off of a solid vegetarian base – rice, lentils, carrots, celery, onion (a complete and healthy diet) – those food stamps will go so far you will be able to afford loose sausage, eggs, enough milk you can’t drink it all, cheese, butter, EVEN BACON.

    Brown rice and lentils are so cheap we figured most of our meals were costing around one dollar per person, including sausage, carrots, celery, onions, and broccoli. One pound of meat can feed at least six people when added into a meal like this.

    As far as liquid intake goes, if your tap water is not drinkable, buying water is still cheaper than buying soda. You can buy cases of 24 bottles for $2 or slightly more.

    I personally don’t feel like agriculture comes into play in this one, its parenting pure and simple from my viewpoint, even though you are preaching to the choir on that front too.

    1. I agree with you on that. It’s very possible to eat like that, but you are a rare breed. Even with parents in the “middle class” when I was growing up, we ate a ton of junk because it was easy and convenient. And now, being older, I can’t get the taste of those things out of my mind, they taste wonderful and I crave them constantly. I can see how people used to that kind of diet could easily become addicted and never think about anything else.
      The only reason I brought in agriculture is because they have made high calorie-low nutrition foods so readily available instead of healthy foods. If everyone was growing fresh fruit and veg, we wouldn’t be in this predicament. (and prices would be lower)

      1. We actually had a bit of a laugh recently regarding the ‘easy and convenient’ food versus a good hot rice and lentil meal. We made TV dinners for everyone, the only time we have ever done that to be honest, as a kind of a treat. With each meal needing the microwave all to itself for about 5 minutes, it took us an hour to cook them all! It takes an hour for me to cook rice and lentils with a sausage and veggie stir-fry. We had to chuckle.

        I’ve said many times that I’m thankful for our large family for many reasons, but one of the reasons is that having a large family makes these kinds of decisions much easier for us. If the TV dinners would only take 10 minutes (only having 1-2 children) we might be more tempted to take that route.

        These kinds of decisions play out on many different fronts, such as whether to use daycare services so we can both work. It would cost us as much as a doctor’s salary to send our children to daycare, so that decision was made easy. We get to raise our own children and form actual relationships with them. In the process though, we get to realize that this is the decision that should have been made anyway, we are just kind of forced into doing the right thing.

      2. It sounds like you and your family are doing it right! I’m glad to hear it! And I hate tv dinners…I ate a lot of them as a kid, now just the smell of them makes me sick….yuck!

  2. Jonnie says:

    You are right. Politically, we are so screwed, it’s not even funny. We have become the stupid, led by the even more stupid. Our governmental policies, are made up by greedy, ignorant, businesses, who buy our representatives, to get what they want, not what’s good for the people. The only chance we have, is to grow and raise our own. Growing up, I was taught to garden harvest, can, freeze, dehydrate, cook, clean, do laundry, iron, sew, etc…, now days children are not taught any of these skills. Today, most do not even know how to shop, for food, or anything else. I was taught how to recycle, repurpose, and reuse. While now they are taught to trash it, and buy new. My aunt bought a living room set, when I was about six years old, fifty three years later, she still has it. It has been recovered three, or four times, but she still has it. She didn’t replace it with new, because, that was not what she was taught. When I first moved to CA, I met several people, who lacked, what I consider, basic knowledge, in life. I ended up doing things for them, because they didn’t know how. Then it became ridiculous, so I stopped, but decided to teach them to do it themselves. That should be added to the food stamp program. They really to teach complete home 3c courses. It’s like the government doesn’t want people to know how, because the more people can do for themselves, the less people will need the government, and the fewer profits big business makes. We have steadily lost, the skills we need, and have become the government’s steeple flock.Going along without a thought in our heads, just as they hoped we would. Giving them more power over our lives. There should be community class, teaching the hands on skills we have forgotten, a community garden, that teaches how to grow, harvest, and store everything properly. O.K., my rambling needs to stop now.
    God bless the two of you, and carry on, full steam ahead.

    1. I 100% agree. Literally every time I tell someone I make soap or yogurt they are just flabergasted. Neither of those things are difficult to do in any way, shape or form. It’s so incredibly simple to take care of yourself, but no one knows how. I have credits in graduate school and do you think anyone ever taught me to buy a house? Or a car? How to cook or how to grow food? No. (except maybe the FFA) But by god I can do advanced algebra. That’s incredibly useless. Maybe I’ll start offering classes on basic things for people. Who knows, maybe a couple people around here are interested.

  3. Jonnie says:

    Home Economics, not 3c, and sheeples, not sheeples. Sorry, spell check, has become a pain, by changing words, that it thinks, that it thinks you meant, instead of trusting me to know what I want to say.

Leave a Reply

