New Landscaping Part 1

Hello Everyone,

Now that the hot weather has started to go away, we can finally start getting things done again! The past couple weeks have been in the mid to high 80’s and above. Having no air conditioning has been terrible. Thankfully one of my friends from high school had a spare window air conditioner that they were throwing out. They offered it to us and of course we snagged it! It’s not the most eco-friendly of products, but being utterly unproductive because of the hot weather is also bad.

New Plans

There will be a more complete post on this later, but over the winter I’m going to start working on plans for the homestead. We are going to be trying to turn it into a working permaculture model. At this point I have a sketch, but we are working on the zoning. We will be enacting some of the plans for the house this fall, in fact, some of them have already been started. We are also going to be transforming the savanna into a working food forest that can deal with Michigan’s climate while trying up the land back there.

These plans, while helping our homesteading, will also raise the value of our land. We had a terrible appraisal on our land because it’s barren and neglected. I plan on changing that.

Our New Landscaping

Not landscaping in the traditional sense, but edible and useful landscaping. The north side of the house and garage are constantly in shade except for the last 2-3 hours of the day, as the sun is going down. These should be perfect places to grow mushrooms, ramps and other shade loving plants. I will be doing more research on what plants to add to these spots. If you have any suggestions for shade-loving food plants, please let us know!

wpid-0913151711.jpg

I cut the grass in the back on the lowest lawn mower setting, then I had Justin weed whack it to oblivion. I think it’s short enough. We then covered it in a single layer of cardboard, soaked it and covered it with corn stalks for extra roughage.

wpid-0913151711a.jpg

I had just chopped down all the corn, so we used it as a way to weigh the cardboard down and to add extra organic matter to the landscaping. Hopefully it will help with mushroom growth later as well.

wpid-0913151725.jpg

I did get four bags of natural (non-colored or treated) mulch for $10 from a local farm shop. I will probably go back and get more later. This should help with mushroom growth, weighing the cardboard down to kill the grass and it will eventually become organic matter for the plants to eat. I plan on lining it with logs like I did the blackberry patch, I just haven’t gotten that far yet.

I’m confident that I can at least make this grow mushrooms once I inoculate it. We’re hoping to grow morels here and possibly make some decent cash off them in a few years once they are prolific (if it works of course).

That’s the plan for now. We’ll see how it works out right? Nothing ventured, nothing gained I suppose.

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

3 Comments Add yours

  1. No morning sun on that north side jsut afternoon? But you probably get a lot of indirect light which should be enough. I don’t grow any perma-crops on the north side of my house but I do have some wild edibles there. One is toothowrt (Dentaria) which makes little white, tooth-shaped tubers with a hot taste. Not much of a crop but something to spice up an early spring salad. Another is wild ginger (Asarum canadense). The roots of this plant can be used sparingly as a hot, spicy seasoning. Spring beauty (Claytonia caroliniana) is also edible and makes pea-sized to acorn-sized tubers that can be cooked and eaten. All three species will take over if the soil is good.

    1. Thanks! I will add those to my list to look up!

Leave a Reply

