Rain, Rain…go away…

Hey Everyone!

Well, it’s been a busy, busy, rainy weekend. Wednesday I had the farmer’s market (which I think I posted about), Friday Justin and I went down to Ann Arbor for the day. He had to go to work and I had some things to do around town. Saturday we drove down to Charlotte for my grandma’s birthday party and pictures. Then we drove back up to Dad’s house with my sister and went to see Jurassic World (Go see it, it’s AMAMZING!). We also went grocery shopping Saturday night and then shopping again on Sunday because we forgot a bunch of stuff….we’re awesome like that.

On top of all that it’s been in the 80’s here with nothing but rain, constantly. It is so humid here that it feels close to 95 at 81 degrees. I was just outside for 20 minutes and I think I lost 10lbs sweating. Gross…but true. I did manage to get you guys some pictures from the garden though!

20997_10207188912869913_5845650931658614571_n

The sunflower hut and my finger. It’s looking great! As soon as it quits raining (thunderstorms today), I will thin this thing out. It’s a little cramped for sunflowers.

1981949_10207188913309924_7594088362189045804_n

This peach tree is easily out performing all our other fruit trees. However, by next week I think it will be surpassed by one of the apples.

10502060_10207188912229897_2292075214085819563_n

My finger again. I just got done cutting all the tall grass around the Kale/Broccoli/Onion bed, that’s what all that is. I started stuffing it into the bed for more mulch. It’s getting too dense to weed without breaking things. I think I may have planted a little too much in that small area…oh well! We’ve been steadily picking 5-7 leaves from the kale a day and you can’t tell at all. It’s actually growing more than we can harvest truthfully. I may have to take some down to the farmers market.

11220469_10207188912589906_912061667993897903_n

The potato bed looks great! I’m super happy that the majority of the potatoes came up. There are still a couple baby ones you can’t see, but I’m sure they will catch up soon! When Justin mows the lawn next I’m going to have him dump the grass clippings here so I can mulch it and kill all those weeds.

11428044_10207188913069918_7977768055155424305_n

The peas are coming along incredibly fast with all this rain. As you can see, all the baby weeds are too. If it doesn’t quit raining soon, I’m going to have quite a problem on my hands. First year gardens are always the worst with weeds.

Well, as you can see, everything is going great! I’m not doing much today, but tomorrow I’ll be baking all day and heading down to the Farmer’s Market again on Wednesday. Hopefully we’ll have a good day! There was an ad in the paper for us, so that should bring more people down!

Have a great day!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

P.S. Some great news! I saw a TON of honey bees in our yard today! That’s a good sign for us!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jonnie says:

    You need wood chips for mulching, not the bark they sell as mulch. Actual wood chips, from non treated wood. When it starts breaking down to compost, just add more on top of what’s already there. It will help keep the weeds at bay, keep the water for evaporating so fast, and compost right where you put it. To help with the pest, my granny used homemade organic soap, w/o lye, grated it, added it to a sprayer filled with water, and shook it up, until she had liquid soap , and sprayed it all over each plant. It works on most pest, she used peppers, vinegar, spices and herbs to help keep deer, rabbits, etc…, from eating her fruits, and veggies, as well. They have a lot of books, and sites that will give you more ideas, and help. Taking your over abundance to the farmers market, is one good idea, but if you find it doesn’t sell well , because there is too much available, don’t let it go to waste. There are shelters, Sr. Citizens homes and gathering spot, who would appreciate the donations. Food banks, and Meals on Wheels, or just neighbors who need some help. Glad everything is working out for the two of you.

    1. Thanks! We’re going to look into wood chips, we just haven’t had the funds to get them yet. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

