Baker Ben—Weds. Farmer’s Market

Hey Everyone!

11390077_10207157952615926_1242979691670502872_n

Well, good news, I made my goal on an extremely slow day at market (plus a little extra)! I think this sort of proves that I can do this and still make my goals. Although, I’m going to have to make some changes for sure.

Everyone and their brother makes cookies at the market, so I’m going to be dropping cookies completely. They are the most annoying to make anyway, I just feel bad that I spent probably $25 on cookie-specific equipment (scoops, silicone mats). I should be able to make up for it though.

Even though every other baker at the market makes Zucchini and Banana Bread, they are still my best sellers. I’m thinking about exploring more bread type stuff and specializing in that. A lot of people were really surprised to see Pumpkin bread and Amish Friendship Bread (no one else makes it), so that might be the way to go. I’ll see if I can get into small cakes and stuff too, who knows? Maybe when Strawberries come in I’ll make little shortcakes too!

Anyway, I just need to corner part of the market. Everyone seems to have syrup, honey, soaps and baked goods right now, so I need to offer something they don’t. Thankfully I have a leg up on the situation because I seem to notice things like that, while everyone else at the market ignores the duplicity or thinks their stuff is better, I’m not sure.

I’ll give you guys updates on how it goes!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

P.S. I find it hilarious that I get customers asking for “sugar-free” baked goods. As if anything loaded with carbs won’t spike your blood sugar, whether it has regular sugar in it or not.

Leave a Reply

