Baker Ben—Farmer’s Market

Hey Everyone!

So, do you remember a few weeks ago, I said that I was leaving the grocery store job to pursue the farmer’s market? I was really worried that it wouldn’t be a lucrative adventure, but I think my opinion has since changed!

On Saturday, the 6th, I had my first day down at the Ionia Farmer’s Market and I did pretty well! Granted, there was a car show going on that day, but I’ve heard from the other vendors that the Wednesday market is a LOT better. So I’m hoping to make up for losses on Saturdays with the Wednesday night markets.

Here’s the breakdown. In order to break even every month (on my personal bills), I have to make about $300 in profit. That means, every time I go to the market I only have to make about $40. Honestly, that should be pretty easy. I think I can make that happen. I’ve also priced my items in such a way that they sell well (I was told my prices were too low), but I make enough from one item to make 3 more in it’s place plus a profit. I think that’s pretty good pricing and if it sells well, then I’m not complaining.

11407114_10207124273693974_8274827074990931144_n

No Bakes, chocolate chip cookies, french bread, amish friendship bread, lemon bars…

11423658_10207123570316390_8067936310031145026_n

…brownies, sandwich bread, pumpkin pecan bread….

11424454_10207123566836303_700324323188046583_n

….zucchini bread, banana nut bread….all sorts of goodies!

On Saturday we made about $70, which was awesome! We sold out of banana bread, zucchini bread and lemon bars. We almost sold out of french bread and brownies. I hardly sold a single cookie.

I found out that, at this time of year, there are a lot of bakers at farmer’s markets because the produce hasn’t come in yet. Unfortunately everyone and their mother makes “the best” cookies ever, so I didn’t sell more than one or two. I also found out that people would rather buy 6 tiny, bite-sized cookies than one giant cookie. So, from now on, if I make cookies, they will be small, but I’ll wrap 5 or 6 up in a package. It’s actually less cookie than the big one, so I’ll make more money I guess.

My sweet breads did really well though. I’m going to try to make more of them and more variety since they sold so well. Maybe I’ll try a lemon poppyseed one and other types. I would rather make breads anyway because I hate having to babysit cookies, it’s super annoying to have to hover around an oven for 2 hours.

But anyway, I did really well and I’m glad for it! I can’t wait to go back Wednesday and hopefully I have a great day then too! If you are in the Ionia, MI area, come stop by some time!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Mmm, looks delicious!

    I’m glad the farmer’s market is starting well!

  2. bluewolf50 says:

    It appears that you have an excellent variety going on there….wishing you success! P.S. They all look delicious!

  3. Grower says:

    Sounds like you’ve worked out the math on the business side of things. Glad you’re off to a good start. Once you’ve established a good reputation you can only succeed!

  4. Good grief, that’s a lot of baking!!! Well done you!

Leave a Reply

