Orchard Complete

Hey Everyone!

I apologize for the sporadic posts since we moved. I’ve been trying to keep on top of it, but we just seem to have so much to do all the time! Now that the garden is almost completely finished and the orchard has been installed, I should be able to update more. I’m hoping to at least get 3-5 in a week.

11393143_10207101328800366_4555834096449362434_n

So, like I said, the Orchard is done! It’s hard to see since they are all tiny sticks, but each little brown spot is a tree! We have 13 fruit trees (2 plum, 2 peach, 4 apple, 4 pear) in the orchard! We also put in 2 red maple, 3 white dogwood, 3 american redbuds, 10 eastern redbuds, 2 sargent crabapples, 8 lilacs and 2 of some other flowering tree that I can’t remember. Needless to say our yard looks like a minefield.

This fall I will be expanding the garden to include flower beds around the trees. I’ll be killing off the grass and building layers to garden in. I don’t want the grass to encroach on the trees and we need more space for flowers. I’m sure our neighbors think we’re crazy by now. All this digging all over the place.

11143561_10207101349320879_1246279389970207791_n

This is a McIntosh (that I forgot to list) that we put in. It’s almost 6ft tall planted and it was only $20 at a local farm store! I’m definitely going back there next spring to pick up more trees if they have them! Even their compost and potting soil is half the price of most stores. AND, if we get chickens, they sell Ameracaunas, which is the breed I want. We do have to swing back in there in a week or so to get a long handled grass cutter. I’m never going to be able to cut a path through the Savannah with the tiny sickle I have.

17655_10207101343280728_4787627300713122089_n

There are wild pink roses all over the place, even up and down the road. I thought someone had planted them here, but we saw a few of them growing on the shoulder of the road almost a mile away on our walk.

11201938_10207102041258177_8498660930445209693_n

This I need help with. Does anyone know what this plant is? It’s got these pink clusters of flowers, it’s a tree with a very open spread and new growth has spiky brown fur on it. The leaves are smooth edged as well. I have no idea what it is, but we saw a huge patch of them and now I want some. I just don’t know what they are to get any!

Well, it’s been an extremely productive week and weekend. We got a lot done and I’m glad to say that a lot of things in the garden are starting to come up! We should have some lima beans up today, I put in all the leeks yesterday and the peas and corn are starting to sprout already! I can’t wait to show you all once they get big enough to see!

Have a great day!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Grower says:

    You are going to have so much good fruit! That looks like a pink-flowered black locust. It’s blooming at the right time to be one.

    1. It is a locust, you’re absolutely right. Someone on instagram told me. I’m going to get some of the seed pods when they come on and grow some myself!

      1. Grower says:

        That Instagram guy must be super smart! 😀

      2. Lol, was that you?

  2. You are looking really good! It will always be a work in progress, even with permaculture.

Leave a Reply

