Another Garden Update

Hey Everyone!

Well, it’s been a busy week!

On Sunday/Monday I compiled a list of all the things I would need for the farmer’s market and got them ordered. A few of them have come in as you can see.

11102799_10206979147905920_926789435044094777_n

These are my center table baskets that all came in. They look pretty good! I also got some bigger baskets from the local Goodwill to use on the ends of the table. I think it will all look great! As you can see I also made some Banana Nut Bread this week in my mini loaf pans. They turned out well, but Justin ripped my pan (it’s silicone) the first time he washed it, so we had to order a couple more. Poor guy, he felt so bad.

11329949_10206978909139951_6326488699770647387_n

I put in Soft Fruit City this week as well. It’s hard to see in this picture, because the plants sort of blend in, but the first row is blackberries, blueberries then a wild currant bush I found. The second row is Comfrey, June-bearing strawberries, comfrey, everbearing strawberries and then comfrey again. The comfrey is root cuttings, so they won’t be up for a minute. The third row is all raspberries except the last plant, which is a gooseberry plant. Thankfully I was able to use the rototiller to get these done, although I did have to dig all the individual holes by hand.

11351313_10206985507864915_1258085804950526273_n

I put in the climbing roses today. I put them next to a power pole on our property, hopefully they don’t ever reach the top. The poles are huge, so I can’t imagine it will ever get up there, and if it does, I’ll just chop that branch off. There are two there, one is just in shadow. The first is a completely yellow rose and the one behind it is a yellow rose with pink frosted tips. Both should be gorgeous!

11377168_10206985512105021_7818881973398964677_n

I also put the Bamboo out in the Savannah today. I put it about 10ft behind all my squash and things, so it should have room to spread out. I hope I can at least get a few new shoots before winter comes on. Now that it’s out of the pot, it should start branching out and putting up new shoots! It’s only been with me for a month and a half and it’s grown three new shoots, so here’s hoping for a small bamboo clump by the end of summer.

Other than that, Justin and I celebrated four years together yesterday! Yay! We went to a town called Grand Ledge, to a restaurant called The House of Hsu. It’s an asian restaurant, decently priced and the food is to die for. It’s a sit-down place (not a buffet, we are more classy than that on date night) but it’s probably the best chinese place I’ve ever been too. Justin is hooked, he wants to go at least once a month now. That is totally fine with me.

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

8 Comments Add yours

  1. butchcountry67 says:

    Congratulations on your 4th year 🙂 may you both have a lifetime of Love, Happiness and peace together 🙂

  2. Jonnie says:

    You need to contain the bamboo. It’s an aggressive grower, and will take over from other plants choking them out.My aunt’s neighbor planted some and it sprouted across the street in someone’s yard, and tore up the street in between the houses. My son grows it in pots, and it breaks the pots. Congrats on your stuff coming ing so quickly. I’m so happy for y’all. I know you’re going to be happy, and do so well.

    1. I want this stuff to spread. A lot. If it ever gets to the point where it is destroying things, I’ll contain it, but for now, I want a bamboo forest!

  3. Renegade Hollow Farm says:

    Happy anniversary! Can I ask where you got your comfrey? I can’t find it in Kansas, and I use so much of it in my salves and soap, I would rather grow it.

    1. I bought it from a guy in North Carolina. Search for “Coe’s Comfrey”. You can order cuttings from them for a good price and start a patch of your own!

      1. Renegade Hollow Farm says:

        Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

