Garden Update-Around the Homestead

Hey Everyone!

Well, I wanted to take some pictures around the house to show you what’s going on. We got here just in time to find out what sort of plants are around the place. It looks like we have about 10,000 Irises, these red tulips and grape hyacinths out front around the porch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Tulips

We have these trees on the front two corners of the house. I have no idea what they are, but they are very nice looking. The blossoms are pretty and the bark has a slightly peely texture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Can Anyone name this tree? We have two.

Okay, I know how big robins are and I feel bad for this bird. She’s pumping out and egg almost everyday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This Robin has got to be extremely unhappy by now.

Got the greenhouse assembled (holy shit bad instructions came with it). We also have it staked down twice (posts and tent stakes) because of the high wind around here. It seems to be holding up really well and it’s doing a fantastic job so far!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The new greenhouse!

This is the second bed that Justin and I dug. We’re mulching it with grass cuttings to keep the weeds down (it’s working okay so far). I’m currently on my second day inside because of this bed. I burnt the ever-living shit out of myself because it was cloudy and I decided not to wear sunscreen. My neck and shoulders are currently covered in blisters (which is super gross, I know), hopefully I’ll be able to lift my arms above my head tomorrow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bed #2 for herbs and more.

The beginning of the compost pile. I just got a couple bales of straw to start this with and I have the fresh grass clippings as my nitrogen content. I should be able to turn over a decent amount of compost in 2-3 weeks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Compost Pile.

This is the first bed I did mostly by myself (Justin helped toward the end). I put it pretty close to the house so I can plant my greens and everyday items there. It’s so close to the back door that I won’t have an excuse not to eat the stuff that’s in it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bed #1 for Greens and such.

So that’s what’s going on around here! I just got the rototiller last night from my dad and I’m hoping to use it tomorrow. If I wasn’t so burnt and in pain I would do it today, but I don’t think I can. I lay awake almost all night last night because of this sunburn, I’m not going to aggravate it now. I’m thinking after today it should feel a lot better.

We’re also having our first guests over tonight! It should be a fun time, it’s a couple of my friends from High School. It’s good to finally have some friends around. I miss the ones we left in Ypsilanti, but it is nice to be in more familiar territory. It’s a bittersweet trade off.

Well, have a good day!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

P.S. Everyone is SO FLIPPING NICE around here. I had a wonderful conversation with the lady at Granger Waste Management while ordering a trash can….how weird is that? It’s been so long since I lived in the country, I’ve forgotten what the people are like. It’s great.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. JT says:

    The tree you were wondering about is possibly Prunus serrulata (Japanese Cherry) 🙂

    1. That’s what everyone is saying on Facebook, it’s a gorgeous tree!

  2. Ginger says:

    The trees you are asking about are called cherry blossoms! I have one in my yard and it is one of my favorite parts of spring, except for when the petals fall 🙂

    1. They are beautiful!

  3. Denise says:

    New reader here and I am so looking forward to your watching your journey! I believe your mystery trees are Kwanzan Cherries. They are beautiful trees in bloom, but non-fruiting. http://www.naturehills.com/kwanzan-flowering-cherry
    I can’t wait to see what you do with your new place!

    1. Thank you! They are quite extraordinary!

Leave a Reply

