Garden Update—6 Weeks From Last Frost

Hey Everyone!

Well, I promised a Garden Update today, so here it is.

wpid-0407151725.jpg

Figs are doing just great! They have gained some pretty decent height. The Blueberries in the back have started to put on new leaves, although they aren’t doing a whole lot. The lemon tree on the left was chopped in half to reduce problems during our move. It has already started to put out side shoots, which is what I wanted anyway. It was a little spindly for how tall it was. The Figs will be moved out to the greenhouse when we move and then outside in June after all chances of frost are over.

wpid-0407151724b.jpg

This is the lettuce box after three harvests. I’m trying to develop two really good heads of lettuce and then I’m picking it from the others. Three are forming nice heads while two tried to bolt. The Arugula is so small, I don’t even know what to do with it. I will be harvesting all this before we move no matter what, this box will be empty when we leave. It weighs near 50lbs with dirt and lava rock in it and I’m not gonna move it all unless it’s convenient.

wpid-0407151724a.jpg

This is the left side of the balcony. There are Strawberries in the terracotta colored pots, they are doing really well! The uncovered flat is Lupine, it’s doing great as well! There are small cups by the door with Moringa trees in them. I planted the Moringa with 3 year old seeds that have never been kept in any sort of climate control. They took twice as long to germinate, BUT they are viable, unlike what “trusted” moringa sources would have you believe. Don’t throw those seeds out, just be patient. I’m approaching 80% germination, that’s pretty good for 3 years in a storage bin that has been frozen. The newest flats (in front) are my Basil and Brassicas. The other flat is Scarlett Sage, an annual flower.

wpid-0407151724.jpgHere are all my big veggies; onions, leeks, pepper, tomatoes and even some cabbage (that hasn’t come up yet). There are the Anne Raspberries down front, growing 10x faster than I want them to. There are also a couple pots of Comfrey, chives, Mulberry cuttings and more Moringa trees. These moringa (on this side) are the slowest to germinate because they only get morning-early afternoon sun. There even some Calendula there on the right still going strong since last October.

There is a lot going on here! Tomorrow I’m going to post an entire list of all my plants that are here, on their way, or are going in this year. It’s a huge list, so be ready. You’re going to think I’m crazy, but we have to get this homestead started. I’ve been waiting for years for this and I’m gonna do it.

Also, you are going to notice a large number of trees. We found out that our property (the land) was valued at $14,400 for the 3 acres. The closest 3 acres to us sold for $38,600. We were valued for less than 1 acre sold near us because our property had a large abandoned patch and a whopping 10 trees that are not in the greatest shape. There is NO landscaping at all. By putting in trees the first year, I plan to raise our property value and do some good for us. There is absolutely NO reason why our land (it’s good farm land) should appraise for so little. I’m going to fix that, and it’s going to produce food.

Wish me luck.

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Mrs. Optimistic says:

    That is amazing! I love seeing all your plants and sprouts! So awesome!

  2. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy thwt I stumbled across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

    1. I’m glad! Welcome to the blog!

Leave a Reply

