Cake #2—Angel Food w/ Whipped Cream Frosting


wpid-img_20150331_152306.jpg

Hey Everyone!

Everything on this cake is homemade as well, everything except the strawberries, I bought those.

So, I’ve never made an angel food cake before. Basically it’s like whipping up a soft meringue and then you fold cake flour and sugar into it. That’s basically it. To my surprise it cooked down instead of up, very little, but it did. The tops of the cakes were almost perfectly level which was awesome for stacking. The cake is SUPER light, like obnoxiously light. Of course, it’s 12 egg whites, so it should be.

The frosting is a homemade whipped cream frosting. I realized as I was frosting the cake that I didn’t make it stiff enough, so I let it cascade over the sides of the cake naturally, which is how it got that texture. I actually REALLY like it, it looks very summery and light. The pink is just tinted whipped cream frosting that I piped on. Nothing fancy, it was too soft to do anything detailed with. Also, forgot to mention, the whipped cream frosting is Kahlua flavored instead of vanilla. Very tasty.

Then I added the strawberries and dark chocolate shavings. I figured with the Kahlua, dark chocolate and strawberries, I couldn’t go wrong. We’ll eat some of it tonight, I’m having a friend over. I made it mostly to practice, but also because I like to feed people. Don’t know who I got that from, but I can’t let people leave my house without feeding them. I guess I’m old fashioned that way.

Anyway, the cake turned out beautifully! I was not happy with it when I finished, but the more I look at it, the more I love it. I’ll definitely be keeping this picture around.

wpid-img_20150331_152527.jpg

Just a top view of the cake. I think I need to realize that I can’t be a perfectionist when I’m making things. I want them to be perfect, but no ordinary cake-eating person is going to notice that there are two tiny flecks of chocolate on the pink icing, which I was trying to avoid. Nobody cares. I’m not in culinary school for a reason, so I shouldn’t strive to create cakes that are meant to be looked at in cases and not eaten. We’re here to eat!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

2 Comments Add yours

    1. It was pretty good. Lol.

Leave a Reply

