Irreversible Damage

Hey Everyone,

The gas guzzling society on this planet has finally done it, there is no chance of stopping or significantly slowing climate change. Yesterday (Tuesday), Antarctica reached 63 degree Fahrenheit. That may not seem like such a big deal, but it really is. Warm air that far south, especially at that temperature, is melting the ice on Antarctica at an alarming rate. The Polar Ice Caps are having similar/worse issues.

We knew, globally, that in 1960, the world’s climate was changing. What happened? Make more cars, burn more oil, stoke the fire. Between 1960 and 1990, most states in the U.S. moved up one planting zone. They are predicting that New York state will be in Zone  7-8 by the year 2050. That’s extremely drastic. Even plants can’t keep up with that pace.

Yet, as this happens, 100’s of articles exist in social media (where the youth of the world gets their information) saying that the world is “greener” than it was ten years ago and that deforestation is okay because forests are growing “somewhere else”, not that they tell you where those forests are. On top of that, many kids, including myself for a while, thought that climate change was just some big joke that was made up to get Liberals into political positions. Unfortunately, whether your liberal or conservative (I have no political affiliation now), you cannot deny that climate change is happening. However, people and kids, my age too, are ignoring it, still citing it as a political ploy.

People are saying “Global warming can’t be real, it’s been colder than ever here!”. No it hasn’t. On average it has been almost 5 degrees warmer, all winter, in Michigan. Yes we had some super cold moments, but they were only moments. We didn’t have weeks and weeks of -20 degrees, we had one or two days. Most of the time it was 10-20 degrees out, which is warmer than it has been since they started recording this stuff.

Anyway, what I’m coming to terms with is, it’s just too late to do anything. I will still plant trees, I will still use less gas and I will still try to get petroleum out of my life, but unless everyone does it, it won’t make much of a difference. At this point, it’s for my own satisfaction. I do not have the power, certifications, degrees and knowledge to make it possible for me to influence people on a global scale (not that anyone has succeeded at that anyway). So I will continue to live in the way that seems the best to me and we’ll adjust as things change. Shifting a couple zones in my lifetime isn’t such a big deal, although I worry about what will happen to those that come after me (or my kids if we get any). I’ll do my part at least.

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

5 Comments Add yours

  1. butchcountry67 says:

    you are absolutely correct, and even I try to use less fuel, I live out in the country and have to travel for groceries doctors and what not, I try to plan everything so I can do it in 1 trip and only have to go 2 or 3 times per month at most. if they ever built an affordable electric car that could handle the minus 45 and below temperatures that we get here, I would definitely invest in one.

    I have stumbled across a couple videos that may be of interest, when I find the links I will leave them here in the comments, 1 is a guy who took the motor off a rototiller and replaced it with a home built solar powered motor, the other is a guy who took a long rake and fashioned it into a human powered tiller .

    Keep going green and planting, you will inspire others to do the same 🙂 1 person can make more of a difference than you may think…. it’s called the ripple effect, it starts with a single ripple and slowly spreads outward as more and more start doing the same 🙂

  2. A big problem is the term ‘global warming’. You only need a bad winter (and this applies anywhere in the world) and someone will say ‘global warming, my arse’.
    But this is weather… It’s a short term thing. The issue is ‘climate change’ which is definitely happening and is most applicable in areas where the climate is extreme… The poles and the equator. Long term change is happening there, but as most people don’t live there (certainly not at the poles!) it can be ignored. Except it can’t, for much longer.
    Climate does change, naturally, but it seems pretty incontrovertible that human actions are accelerating it.

  3. You might want to watch suspicious observer on YouTube if you are interested in this subject. They have quite the take on these events

  4. Taiylor Wallace says:

    Reblogged this on Weird? Maybe. and commented:
    I’ve got to agree with everything Ben has said here. I’ve seen it happening too, and for a long time I’ve tried to convince myself it’s a planetary thing, that there are phases like the Ice Age and Global Warming. But the fact is that the greenhouse gases in our atmosphere will probably prevent another Ice Age from ever happening until long after humans go extinct. At the rate we’re going, unless we come up with some crazy amazing, I don’t know… “atmosphere-scrubber” kinda deal, extinction for us and many other creatures is not far off. There’s hope… but not much if we don’t actually DO something.

Leave a Reply

