Day 2 of Planting/First Cheese/Birthday

2

Hey Everyone!

Well, here is my first wheel of cheese ever! 2.25lbs of Farmhouse cheddar. I took it out of the press this morning and trimmed it. Now I need to keep it on the counter for 2-4 days to develop a rind, then I’ll vacuum pack it and stuff it away somewhere to age. I tasted the trimmings and it doesn’t have much of a flavor yet. I’m sure it will get better as it ages. It just tastes like dull mozzarella to me right now, but without the freshness. I’ve got another one hanging right now that will go into the press later. I plan on making a wheel of cheese every 2 weeks or so to get started and then we should have a good supply of cheese that we can either give away or eat ourselves! It will be nice not to have to make a batch of mozzarella every time I want to make cheese sauces.

3

I finished planting all the 8-weeks-out plants. Today I put in 30 tomatoes (4 varieties), 48 peppers (4 varieties), 12 cumin, 12 sage, 12 oregano, 12 thyme, another 8″ pot of comfrey, and 2 8″ pots of chives. Yesterday, if you remember, I put in 72 scarlet sage (flower), 72 Lupine (flower) and 1 8″ pot of comfrey. Oh, and scallions, forgot those, a 12″ pot of them. If you are any good at math, that’s about 400 plants if I estimate the seeds in the pots as well. It’s taking up an 8ft board and some of my floor space (in the picture).

1If you remember “Kitty Litter Gardens” from last fall, you’ll notice them now. I created my own benches for the flats by putting boards across the square buckets. It’s working better than I anticipated. Although, to be honest, I’m a bit worried, I have 4 flats to plant in a couple weeks and that will take up the rest of my space. I’m not sure how I’m going to deal with the pot upgrades for the tomatoes and peppers. Not to mention the moringa seeds that are on their way….it’s going to get a little tight in here. I can downgrade a little if need be, it’s not too big of a deal. I’ve found out that there will be a very low chance of my moringa producing seed in the first year, so I may not start them until need be. They are just becoming compost anyway.

What’s going to be really fun is moving all this stuff to the new house. Hopefully it won’t be too bad, but I’m looking at upwards of 10 flats and then all the pots in my car. I don’t really trust them in the moving truck. Maybe we’ll take a bunch of them when we go to pick up the U-Haul, that way there aren’t so many to move on the second trip.

Other than that, today is my birthday. Big “25” today. I’m officially a quarter of a century old, vintage you might say. I certainly feel vintage. For those of you that grew up in the “digital age”, you will likely notice how little we have in common with people just 3 years younger than us. My sister and I live in TOTALLY different worlds, or at least it feels like it. I have much more in common with kids older than me. Everything I did in college is totally irrelevant already and completely forgotten. Even the social structure is different. Just seems like the world is moving faster and faster everyday, which is one of our big reasons for doing this homesteading thing. We want to slow down and enjoy life, not live it at 20Mbps. That’s just too fast.

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice looking cheese. I wish I was as organised as you!

    1. haha, I’m trying to be. I have a lot of time to think.

  2. Jonnie says:

    Happy Birthday, may it be all you could wish, and followed by even better ones.

  3. You will have to do a blog post on you made the cheese…
    M.

    1. I will, don’t worry!

  4. rivenfae says:

    Very pretty cheese! I wouldn’t mind trying some when that’s aged. Hope all your seeds sprout and grow strong!

  5. humblelittlehomestead says:

    You’re inspiring me to want to try out making cheese again. Looks good! Happy birthday!!

    1. Thank you! I hope it tastes great after it ages!

  6. twenty-five is just the beginning!

Leave a Reply

