2 Day Planting Spree

wpid-0319151659.jpg

Hey Everyone!

Well, as you can see, it’s that time of year again. Here in my part of Michigan (or my future part) we’re at the 8 weeks out mark for the last frost. Really it was last week, but I’m giving myself a week leeway to plant out the garden. I know how temperamental our weather can be.

Anyway, today I planted out two flats (72 cells) and two pots. I planted a whole flat of Lupine flowers, one of my favorites and a good bee flower. I also planted a whole flat of Scarlet Sage, a favorite flower of Justin’s, which is also a good bee/hummingbird flower. Those will be planted in one of the raise beds I’m creating and also along our “food forest” path if I can do it fast enough. Either way, they are annual flowers we can pretty much put anywhere, although I remember the Lupine being perennial at my mom’s house. I’m not sure if that was due to seeding or roots. Either way, I’m fine with it making a comeback.

I planted out an 8 inch pot of Comfrey. I’m trying to decided whether or not I want to do a second pot of it. I will be planting it into it’s own raised bed since it likes to be a perennial here. Maybe I will do another pot. I did buy enough for 2 pots worth of Comfrey. I’m going to use it mostly as a compost activator, but it’s also a medicinal, so that’s a plus.

I also planted out a 12 inch pot of scallions. I just found the seed packet today, it had been hiding away in some of my things, I forgot to record it. I’m keeping a very precise journal/binder of everything I do so I can learn from mistakes and keep track of yields. Anyway, I found the seed packet and put in a pot of them. Once we move, if they aren’t ready to harvest, I’ll just plant them into the garden somewhere and harvest them later. Or I’ll just keep cutting them down until the end of the summer, who knows.

Tomorrow I will be planting all our tomatoes, peppers and most of the herbs. It will be the last planting day until April 3rd, then I have another on April 17th and then when I put in the garden. It’s gonna start getting busy, but I’m so excited to see all the little plants coming up.

Cheese Press came today! I’ll give you guys a tour of my first hard-cheese batch! Farmhouse cheddar! It’s on the oven right now!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

6 Comments Add yours

  1. rivenfae says:

    Hope that cheese comes out well.

    1. Me too! Just waiting for it to ripen right now, then I have to curdle it.

  2. VivianaAyre says:

    You guys are a true inspiration. I was born and raised in the suburbs but I have farming and growth in my heart, but I often get nervous because of a lack of experience. I look reading your guys blog because it helps me get off my but and get things done (except right now because it’s snowing).

    1. Lol, well I’m glad we inspire you! We just really want this to happen, so we’re making it work! I’ve been reading pretty heavily about the subject for a year now, but I’ve been gardening for a while. It’s all practice, you’ll get it!

  3. Grower says:

    I need to tidy up my seed starting area to make more room for potting up. Plants grow! Looking forward to hearing about your cheese. That’s something I’ve always wanted to try.

    1. I need to clean it now that I just got done putting in my 8-weeks-out plants. Dirt everywhere…

Leave a Reply

