First Mini-Harvest

Hey Everyone,

Well, it’s been pretty uneventful here. We’re still finishing up paperwork for the house and I’m done with class for the week. I’m working on some illustrations for my sister’s children’s book. I wish it was going better, but at least I’m started.

Those lettuces I started a while ago are finally kicking out some usable greens. The arugula is still very small. I’m not really sure why, but I’m more interested in the lettuce anyway.

The picture below is after I took all the leaves off to eat. I forgot to take a picture of before. Most of the leaves came off the Ruby Red lettuce on the left while I did take a couple leaves that were getting shaded out off the buttercrunch on the bottom of the photo. I figured we might as well eat all of it, not just the head of lettuce that will form eventually.

wpid-0310151419.jpg

So there they are, nice and thinned out again. It was getting a bit crowded.

wpid-0310151420.jpg

This is all the lettuce I cut. It’s pretty tasty. I’ve noticed that lettuce I grow is consistently drier than lettuce at the store. When I buy romaine at the store it’s almost obnoxiously watery. The lettuce doesn’t really taste like anything, but it’s got a lot of liquid content. While my lettuce is always more flavorful, but it’s texture is considerably more leafy and less wet. Just an observation. If you have any idea why, feel free to share. I’m under the impression that most grocery store lettuces are grown hydroponically, so maybe that’s why their water content is so high.

Anyway, besides that I gave the onion seedlings their first trim. They were getting a bit scraggly. I also went through and covered up root systems of the seeds that decided to germinate and pull themselves up. The Moringa have yet to show any sign they are germinating. The seeds I used are from 2012, so it’s very possible they are dead by now, especially after getting cold a few times. I figured I would try instead of waste them though, I mean, the lettuce I’m eating is from seeds from 2012. Anyway, if I don’t see any progress in the next couple days I will order new seeds and replant. I need those Moringa for compost and growth boosters!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

3 Comments Add yours

  1. humblelittlehomestead says:

    Looks like you got a nice little harvest there. I have noticed the same thing about homegrown lettuces being less wet. I’m not sure why that is either. We’ve got a small indoor garden growing though the winter and our lettuce is almost ready to be picked. It’s been slow growing for some reason.

    1. It’s probably the lack of light. I have a full south facing window, so my lettuce gets at least 5 hours of direct sunlight a day. I was growing very slowly, but now it’s picking up speed since the days are getting longer.

      1. humblelittlehomestead says:

        That’s probably true. I have mine under a grow light and it gets 10 or 12 hours of light from that. But there’s nothing better to make plants grow faster than real sun light. 🙂

Leave a Reply

