Mid-Winter Break this week

wpid-0223151225a.jpg

Hey Everyone!

Thank the great googly-moogly that I have all week off school. Apparently it’s mid-winter break, not to be confused with spring break, we have both of them. Although I won’t be around for spring break. Anyway, I’m enjoying my time off. Maybe I’ll be able to catch up on some sleep and work on getting rid of these dark circles under my eyes. I don’t know if a week will cure that, but I’ll try.

So this week I’ve got a project to get near finished for one of my classes. Thankfully I have an excess of time. I need to remember to get the paper cut and flattened tonight so that I can actually start on it. I convinced my professor to just let me do a straight portrait of Justin. I’ll show the picture when I get working on it. It’s a photo I took in my photography class back in 2012. It should turn out fairly well I hope. I want to do some cool watercolor stuff with it.

wpid-0222151533.jpg

I wanted to share this image with you. I took a picture of a picture in a book at the library. I can’t remember what it’s called and this is probably really illegal. But I wanted to show this garden setup that I really like. I enjoy the fenced in garden for it’s functionality and pest control properties, but my favorite part is the pergola in the center with the Morning Glories climbing up it. I’m thinking about constructing the one side of it and growing my morning glories there as well. I think, if I make it the first year, I will just pop it in the ground and NOT set the posts. That way, if we build a deck like we want to, I can pull it back up and make it part of the deck. I think that would be really cool. It would be a nice way to accent it while giving a place for the flowers to grow. That idea has just been floating around, Justin likes the design, so I might just go ahead and do it, it’s only 6 boards and a few screws, it would cost hardly anything to build.

Other than that, I’m just working on my artwork, baking bread and trying to relax this week. 3 weeks of school after this week and I’m done for good! Now I just have to figure out a way to raise some money for the pottery studio and I can start working on getting that set up. If you have any ideas, let me know. I need to raise about $1500 and crowdfunding usually get’s me nowhere. I don’t like asking people for money anyway.

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

4 Comments Add yours

  1. My neighbor has a set up with the pergola in the middle and grows her grapes on it. It’s awesome after a few years when the vines mature and cover it and the grapes hang all over it.

    1. That sounds like a great idea! I really love pergolas, they are very cool.

      1. Ours is an outdoor shower for the summer. You can see on the far side the pipes that run up to the shower head. I have a trumpet vine and clematis growing on either side.
        https://chasenchanceranch.wordpress.com/2014/07/23/outdoor-shower/

      2. That’s awesome! We are actually thinking of ways to make our backyard completely private, or at least a section of it. It would be nice to sunbathe or have an outdoor shower without worrying about the neighbors calling the cops.

Leave a Reply

