Sprouts—ARTICLE

Hey Everyone!

No word on the house yet (although we should reach an agreement by tomorrow….hopefully).

Anyway, I wanted to tell you about something I’m going to start doing, especially in the winter. Sprouts!

I’ve been thinking a lot lately on how to get fresh veggies in the house during the winter without going to the store. So far I’ve figured out a way to keep almost everything except leafy greens. That means two things, either I need a greenhouse and heater by next winter OR I can start doing sprouts. Right now I’m leaning towards sprouts because it’s much cheaper and easier to take care of and it won’t boost my electricity bill.

The best resource I’ve found for sprouts and information is SproutPeople.org. They are a really great site with the best prices on sprouting seeds that I have found. I will probably be ordering some from them in the next few weeks. I may even use some of them in the garden to grow my own seeds for sprouting!

I thought you guys might find it interesting (if you don’t eat sprouts already) and if you are interested, here is an article by Chelsea Green Publishing about growing your own sprouts: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/sprouts-breathe-life-back-winter/?utm_source=Bronto&utm_medium=Email&utm_term=WINTERREAD&utm_content=WINTERREAD&utm_campaign=Email-General

I think this would be a fantastic way to get those fresh greens and some great nutrition into your winter diet without having to buy bitter lettuce from the store that has no nutritional value. It’s a step in the right direction at least!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

Leave a Reply

