Asopao de Pollo—My Version (RECIPE)

1502491_10206054236903723_5520022823077549430_n

Sorry for the bad photo, I really need to buy a camera…ugh

Asopao de Pollo (Chicken and Rice Stew)

So, Justin’s mom is Puerto Rican (this is a PR dish) and I was feeling inspired last night, so I attempted to make it without knowing any of the ingredients, and it was AWESOME! This is a spicy dish (not really hot, just spice-loaded), you can edit as much as you want to, but it’s pretty good to me and I got Justin’s stamp of approval.

Ingredients:
2 Cups Rice (uncooked)
4 Chicken Thighs (I used boneless/skinless)
24oz. of Crushed Tomatoes (I used our home-canned)
1 Med. Onion, diced
1 Green Bell Pepper, diced
7 Lrg. Cloves of Garlic (yes, use this much)
3 Tbs. Butter

Seasoning Mix:
1/2 tsp. Ginger
1/4 tsp. Red Pepper Flakes
1 tsp Cumin
1/2 tsp. Red Chili Powder
1 1/2 tsp Seasoning Salt
1 tsp. Cajun Seasoning
1/2 tsp Mesquite Steak Seasoning (optional)

1. Get your rice cooking. We have a rice cooker, so I just use 2 Cups rice, and 2 1/4 Cups water and set it to “white rice”, which is what I used.

2. In a stew pot, start browning your whole chicken thighs in a little bit of olive oil. When they are browned on both sides, add your onion, garlic, and bell pepper. (Make sure you don’t burn the garlic)

3. Add the butter and a little bit of water (1/4 cup) to lift the gunk off the pan (it’s got a lot of flavor). Just melt the butter, then add your 24oz. of crushed tomatoes.

4. Bring your stew to a boil, lower to a simmer and add your seasoning mix. Simmer the mix for 10-15 minutes, uncovered, or until it has reached a thickness you desire and the chicken is cooked through.

Note: I used boneless chicken thighs, so they cooked much faster, you will have to cook it for longer if you choose to leave the bones in.

5. TASTE your stew and adjust the seasonings, I found this mix to be perfect for us. Ladle the stew over a bowl of rice and enjoy! Make sure you get a piece of chicken in there!

I will admit, if you are not used to spicy things, this could be a little on the warm side for you. However, if you enjoy spicy food, this will be very mild. It’s a great dish and I love it! I’ll definitely be making it again!

Enjoy! Comment below if you make it, we would love to hear your thoughts!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m so new to this dish

Leave a Reply

