Painting Today—Stress-free Art

10931144_10205991579337323_3476431857021097149_n

Today I was painting!

If you are a psychology person, don’t read too much into this, I was just having fun!

So, I needed to do a weird project for my drawing class and I thought to myself “Do I really care what the rules are?” My resounding answer: No.

I’ve spent the past semester totally freaking and stressing out about art. I’ve realize that I do not care for academic art anymore and I don’t want anything to do with it. This semester I’m going to focus on stress-free art. If that means doing crazy stuff like this, then so be it. I just keep getting all uptight about what I make and I want it to be perfect. But really, it’s never going to be perfect, so I might as well enjoy what I’m doing, while still doing a good job (i think).

This is more along the lines of stuff I like to do, but I keep trying to shove myself into the tiny little box that is academic art. So, for this semester, I quit. I’m not doing academic art anymore, I’m doing MY art.

(FYI, I’m leaving after this semester anyway, so if this lands me a horrible grade, I don’t really care! AHAHAHA!)

Please don’t think I’m crazy.

Don’t forget to subscribe.

Ben

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Emma says:

    I love your philosophy. To remain free is to remain true. Following instruction with creativity disables the inspiration. I always answer positively when I become the creator of my own words 🙂

    1. Same here! I find that classes make me hate my favorite things because I try to shove them into the rule set, so now I’m just gonna ignore the rules and do my thing! I’ve got nothing to lose!

      1. Emma says:

        Exactly! Plus it will enhance your creativity as you are creating purely from the soul

  2. Perfection is in the intention not in the outcome. Art is meant to express not repress. Relax and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

