Sunday on the Homefront: One Week Until We View Houses!

Hey Everyone!

10404209_10205960993492696_7913927224027183516_n

So, we finally finished up all our Christmas visiting this weekend. It was nice to see Justin’s parents. And of course, we had an amazing meal! His mom is from Puerto Rico and she makes THE BEST food. Absolutely amazing. I’m going to have to get her pork recipe, it was the most tender/delicious thing I have ever eaten and the gravy she made for it was even better.

We finally head to out to look at houses next weekend. We’re both nervous, but after all your help with my last post, we’re feeling more confident. We have also been really examining the properties (from every possible online source, including Google Earth and Street Views) to get a better look and to really think things through. We’ve gone through the properties and talked about what would need to be changed and where everything would go. We’re trying to imagine what our lives would look like in every house. My Dad has also been doing “drive-bys” on some of the properties to see if there are any major problems. Only one house we plan to look at is uninhabited at this point. All the rest have families residing there. I’ve never looked at a house that had people living there, so I’m not really sure how that will go. I’m still going to be ruthless about the houses, I don’t care who lives there.

So, that will eat up our coming weekend. I’m really excited about it.

Other than that, I’ve been re-working the garden plans. I’ve figured out how to keep the garden in a 30×30 space, but I’m changing the setup a little bit. I’ve come to realize that intensive gardening is all fine and dandy, but I don’t know if I can properly harvest food that is grown that close together. Fighting through 4ft of 4inch spaced beans sounds like I’ll miss a lot of them. So I’ve redesigned the garden to be a row garden, but with square-foot gardening planting. I think this will actually increase yield and make it possible for me to pick the food. I’m also starting to figure out our project needs such as trellises and support for the plants. It’s a lot easier to do when I know exactly how big/long each trellis needs to be.

I think I will also be removing the leafy greens from the main garden and putting in a raised bed near the house for them. They will probably be fenced in as well, just because they are so tempting to other creatures.

Serious question, do you think 400 stalks of sweet corn is too much for two people? I’ve seen people who fill two chest freezers with sweet corn every year, so I wasn’t really sure how much to plant. But I do know that 24 stalks per person (like it says in some books) is not enough.  We both really like sweet corn, but I could use the garden space for something else if it’s a little over the top.

Anyway, that’s what’s been going on. Next week’s “Sunday on the Homefront” will be about our newly viewed houses! It should be a good one!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

8 Comments Add yours

  1. butchcountry67 says:

    if you have a small rotor tiller you could always til a strip wide enough for 2-3-or 4 stalks of corn, and run that strip around your property kind of like a wind row, or fence line made of corn, that’s what we do, we mix sunflowers in with the corn , the bees and birds seem to like that, the birds go for the sunflower seeds and leave the corn be. as for how much to plant, 400 should be good, using the wind row method you can increase/decrease as needed, and any surplus could be either given to family or donated to your local food bank.

    1. Thanks! That’s an interesting idea! Depending on where we end up, we’ll have to adjust my garden plans.

  2. That sounds like a lot of corn but if you have too much you could barter it for the extras someone else has right?

    1. Definitely! We are planning on sharing it with our families as well, so they will benefit from our ridiculous amount of corn.

  3. Hope says:

    With the corn, bear in mind that it does best in a block, because it’s wind-pollinated. The corn on the edges tends to get poorly pollinated, resulting in half-developed ears. You can remedy this by hand-pollinating the stalks on the outside edge if you’re worried. But if you do one long row around the perimeter of your property, as another commenter suggested, you’d be likely to have to deal with that with all the corn instead of just the outside edges. It’s still a good idea — could be very attractive as well as saving space — just know that you might be harvesting half-developed ears.

    1. We are actually planning on doing blocks of corn. I haven’t decided if I’m doing 2 or 3 blocks yet. We’re going to stagger the planting a bit. I’m thinking of doing 100-130 stalks at a time.

      1. Hope says:

        I like the idea of staggering, too. That way you don’t have to deal with all of it coming ripe at the same time! We got into our place too late last year to plant corn, so this year we’re going to try some for the first time since I left home about 20 years ago. I’m trying to balance between not really wanting a ton of corn, but wanting to plant in a block so that it will get appropriately pollinated… I grew up on a commune, so we had to plant for multiple families, so guessing how much our one family will want is tough. I just keep reminding myself…If I mess up, there’s always next year, right?

      2. True. This year I’m just planting almost all my seeds and seeing if it’s way too much or too little…I guess I’ll just go for it and find out! I can always give it to friends and family.

Leave a Reply

