This Homestead Train is Moving Fast!!!

Hello Everyone!

Well, there is a lot going on over here. Holy smokes.

Sunday I sent an email to a real estate agent that one of my best friends knows. She used to work with his wife and she said he was a pretty great guy. Well, by 8:30am the next morning, he had already introduced himself and wanted to know what we were looking for. After exchanging a few emails yesterday, we received seven home listings that fit our needs PERFECTLY. If any of you have worked with an agent, you’ll know how rare this is. When I said it had to have at least an acre of land, that’s what I got. When I said no more than $100k, that’s what I got. I didn’t get 1/2 acre plots or houses for $10k more than our price range. It was really great!

So, Justin and I seriously went through them and we were very brutal. Only 3 of them made the cut, with one of those three dependent on zoning because it lies within a city limit. The other four we got rid of completely. No point in driving two hours north to look at houses that don’t fit what we want.

Something new came to our attention while looking at these houses. Apparently, in West Michigan, it is common practice to take possession of a home 30 days after closing. With that being said, we want to be into our new home by May 1st. If we don’t look at these homes until mid-January, spend two weeks pre-approving financing, make an offer, spend 30 days in closing and then have to wait another 30 days before moving in, we almost hit our deadline. Since Justin and I were not aware of this practice, we have gone into a little bit of a panic. If we had known, we would have started earlier. We’re understanding that it will be AT LEAST 80 days from the moment we step inside a house to view it, until we can START moving in.

With that being said, our lease on this apartment does last until August. We want to break it and get to a home so I can get the studio going along with the garden (which will bring in money and save us grocery money). If push comes to shove, we have until August, so I’m not panicking too much, but I do want to get a place before May.

For the next couple of weeks we will be looking at listings and choosing homes to go view in January. I’ll keep you updated! Wish us luck!

Don’t forget to Subscribe!

Ben

10 Comments Add yours

  1. queenieminx says:

    Fingers crossed that you two find the home you’re looking for quickly!

    1. Thank you! I’m hoping it just all goes according to plan.

  2. Thymewarp says:

    Good Luck! Nothing like having your own bit o’ dirt.

    1. Thank you! We can’t wait!

  3. Goodness me! An arce of land for $100k?! What having all that space in the USA means… If we wanted an acre of land in England we would need about Β£300k (so about €450!!!). If I didn’t love Blightly so much, I might consider emigrating! πŸ˜‰

    1. You wouldn’t believe…we found a couple places with 10 acres and a house for that much. There is a lot of land in the center of the US for grabs, it’s the coastlines that are hard to find it on.

      1. Lol! If you ever wanted to emigrate, the Upper Penninsula of Michigan has 50-200 acre swathes of land for less than 300k. But it snows 9 months out of the year, so bring a greenhouse! I personally think Michigan (though I’m biased) is the most beautiful state I’ve ever been to. There is just a lot of snow.

  4. James Gielow says:

    Very good news! I’m excited for you. It’s a lot of work, but so worth it once you get those keys! Those wonderful key. On a side note, I’ve nominated your blog for the One Lovely Blog Award. Check out mind your dirt for details.

    1. Thanks very much! We are really excited.
      I will check out the award, thanks!

Leave a Reply

