New Goals for a New Year

New-Year_Resolutions_list

Hello Everyone!

Well, it’s getting around to the time again. Break out your pencils and paper, it’s time to make some New Year’s Resolutions! I haven’t really nailed mine down yet, but I know there are a few things we are going to do (like buying a house). I think 2015, for us, is going to be about new beginnings.

The House:

Well, we still need to find the realtor, but our prospects are looking good for a home. Dad has been keeping his eye open and I’ve actually found a couple houses I like in the area. Hopefully they are still there once we find an agent, I would definitely be interested in looking at them. Our main goal is to find a place that fits two major needs; space for a ceramics studio and space for growing our own food. That really boils down to a garage and 1/2 an acre, so any more than that is a plus.

The Garden:

Our goal for the first year is really just to tack down the garden. I have it designed, but I’m working on the rotation schedule and crop arrangement. The first year is about creating the garden, but I would also like to bring in at least 20% of our food needs, if not more. That would more than pay for the investment in seeds and help us transition into homeownership easier. This goal is almost achieved, I just need the land to plant on.

The Studio:

This is the really big goal, it may be a little too ambitious for the first year, but I want to give it my best. I need somewhere around $3500 to make the studio completely operational, not including any adjustments to the studio space itself. (Do yourself a favor, if you want a hobby, pick a cheaper one) The biggest cost is the kiln, about $2700 for a decent size complete with furniture (shelves and stilts). After that it’s clay and raw materials for glazes. I do have a kiln, but it has no furniture and it requires CONSTANT babysitting because it does not have an automatic kill switch. That worries me because of the potential for a fire and the large margin of error. I can’t really afford a new kiln, but I really can’t afford to mess up all my pots every time either. This goal will take some thought and work to achieve, but I’m hoping to get it within the year.

Money:

The ever constant need and annoyance, money. Justin plans on searching out something more attuned to his interests (psychology) when we move. My immediate plans are to get the garden running and the ceramics studio. I plan to make the studio my main source of income, but at this moment, that’s looking hard to do without some sort of work. I have some creative ideas about how to achieve this extra cash that I’m going to put into motion immediately. You will know about them when they happen. If that doesn’t pan out, I will probably be finding a part-time to raise cash for the studio.

Health:

This is a big one for 2015. With this new move and new life comes a huge amount of stress and responsibility. Justin and I already look like a pair of raccoons with our tired eyes. Our bodies react to stress in different ways, but none of them are pleasant. After this past semester with grad school and Justin’s constant struggle with insurance customers, we’re both ready for something new and something healthy. We have both come to the conclusion that doing something we love is more important than anything else. We would both give up everything we have and it’s conveniences before we go back to 9-5 office jobs. It’s not worth the misery for us. So this year, we both set out to enjoy our lives from now on. We are willing to make sacrifices to make that happen, but we will do it.

I want to hear from you guys! What are your plans for the new year? 2015 have anything special in store for you?

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

4 Comments Add yours

  1. 2015 = doing and not waiting. Dusting off that bucket list and planning to start checking things off. 🙂 As a former HR professional for many years, I know that looking for a job is always better when you have a job. And, when looking for a house and potential financing, they’ll will be looking for some type of steady income to cover expenses so be prepared to cover that base. Here’s hoping in 2015 you find the perfect residence, studio and garden to exceed your needs. 🙂

    1. Thank you! We’ve got the steady income right now to get the financing and we’re searching for new jobs already. Good luck with your bucket list and have fun!

  2. offgridmom says:

    Great goals and maybe trying a go fund me account (or some other like it) would be the way to go. Best of luck to you in the new year

    1. I’m thinking about trying it. I’ve had a lot of friends (and others) really ruin crowd funding. It seems like there are so many “I don’t want to work, give me money” campaigns out there, it’s hard to get noticed with a legitimate one. I may try it, but I’ve got some other plans to enact before that happens. We’ll see how it all pans out!
      Thank you and best of luck to you as well!

Leave a Reply

