Thankfully, I have no money

wpid-1223141456.jpgHello Everyone!

As you can see, the figs and blueberries are doing well! The blueberries were obviously going dormant when they were sent to me, so their leaves have been dropping off, no worries though. I’m sure they will be fine. If you are very observant however, you will notice that I’ve had growth on the fig trees! The leaves have lifted right up and I even have a new leaf on the tree to the left. You may also notice that there is cinnamon on the top of the soil. Somehow, I always get fungus gnats. I saw one and I cinnamoned all the plants. I don’t know if it came from the lemon tree, the new plants or the plants in others parts of the house, but I’m not taking any chances. I hate those little buggers! I haven’t seen a one since I did this, and that was a few days ago, so hopefully I have deterred and/or killed them.

As to the title of this post, I’m glad I’m flat out broke right now. I just received a 50% off everything coupon from Gurney’s Nursery (Offer Code: 0537015 if you want to use it) and I’m using my empty bank account as an excuse not to buy anything else. This year I invested $200 into our seedstock and future garden. Considering what I’ve spent (with my mom) some years on “for fun” gardens, this is a drop in the bucket.

This year I invested in all heirloom seeds for the garden, strictly for food. I have been researching and I plan on harvesting seeds as well and cutting my seed-buying needs at least in half, if not more. I really hope to only buy seeds if I have a terminal crop failure with no backup or I want to introduce new plants. I consider this $200 investment some of the best money I’ve ever spent. I just invested in our food future for the next 2 years at least (if I don’t save seeds). That could be close to a $2400 payout, if not more. Great turnaround on that one.

As for that coupon, I’m trying to keep in mind that we don’t even have a real estate agent yet. I want to do everything I can to buy fruit trees and things, but the plain, simple fact is that we don’t have a house and we don’t know when we will have a house. I’m planning on starting seedlings in March, but if we don’t have a place to plant them in time, I’ll take them to my dad’s house and plant them, not a big deal. Then I’ll save the other seeds for next year since they are in cold storage. I’ve always been guilty of getting over zealous with gardens, but I don’t have the means to this year (or my mom’s enthusiastic checkbook. She knew I loved to garden and supported the habit without me even asking her). But, we’re making progress, things are looking good. After the holidays I will be tacking down a real estate agent and hopefully moving into the pre-approval phase for a loan. We will also be looking at home listings to see if we want to jump on a house early.

I hope everyone is having a happy holiday and getting prepared to stuff themselves this week. Have fun!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

Leave a Reply

