Why Do People Feel the Need to Diagnose You?

Hello all.

This isn’t directed at any one person, it’s just been happening more and more lately and I don’t understand why.

So, whenever I make a status on facebook or just mention in a conversation that something hurts, people diagnose me with the worst possible diseases they can think of. Now, this wouldn’t be so bad if I was a normal person, but I tend to  be very anxious and made-up diseases in my head are my #1 source of anxiety. Trying to stop that, but it’s taking more time than expected.

Here are some examples.

“My wrist hurts today, must have strained it throwing clay on the wheel.”
Response- You have carpal tunnel (not that bad, but debilitating to a potter)

“I’ve had a headache for the past four days, but just a small one. Probably a tension headache from stress or something.”
Response: Are you sure you don’t have a Brain tumor? Meningitis?

“Got a bloody nose.”
Response: You could have an aneurism. Get to the hospital, you could die at any moment.

“When I sit at my computer desk all day working I get achy.”
Response: Fibromyalgia, Restless Leg Syndrome, Blood Clot…..etc.

What prompts people to do this? Do they think they are saving me? Because it’s causing more damage than it’s helping. It’s actually starting to really piss me off. I don’t even want advice from people on how to stop these things from happening. If I’m that worried about it, I’ll consult a doctor, but until that day comes, I don’t want advice or diagnosis. I literally have 2 people in my group of friends that are even remotely qualified in medical fields and they never diagnose me. Most of the time it’s all the disease-paranoid people.

Anyway, my solution to this is to never post about myself ever again, which makes me wonder why I have a facebook to begin with. If it weren’t for connections that I might lose, I would probably just delete it. We also have the blog page to manage. I just don’t understand. I have people who never, ever talk to me, but when I post something about hurting myself, they are right there to tell me how I have cancer or some incurable disease. Other than that, they are quiet pleasant people.

Alright, that rant is over. Thanks for letting me vent. I just can’t understand why this keeps happening.

Anyway, have a great monday!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Deleted my facebook account awhile back. Shocked how much I don’t miss it.

    1. I believe it. Believe me, I’m really contemplating it. The only thing holding me back is the sales of my pottery. They sell well on my facebook page.

      1. I understand that! I couldn’t scale it back to just use it for certain things like I wanted to, so it had to go. Maybe you can be stronger than I was. 🙂 Much more peaceful now.

  2. Doctors are the worst. I am considered obese not over weight because I don’t fit their pre programmed mold. Dude I’m 6’3″ and built like a linebacker. And in better shape than the doctor. My rant also 😉

    1. Lol, I’ve met a lot of people like you who are in great shape, but big guys. It’s dumb that they don’t evaluate on an individual basis.

  3. Facebook is a 2014 necessity for a person with a business. However, as you said, your personal life can be excluded and the drama level will decrease dramatically I’m guessing. 🙂

  4. It might just be that those making these comments care about you and are carrying around some kind of trauma that has made them more aware of death. At least, that’s what I think reading your summaries of exchanges.

    As far as a practical approach to FB, I found that separating my own personal FB from my professional material was helpful, just created an author page for myself that holds everything business related.

    1. I’ve noticed that a lot of people, no matter my symptoms, diagnose me with something they have or have gone through. You could be on to something.

      I keep my personal and business pages separate. I think I’m too opinionated to combine them!

Leave a Reply

