Gardening Deals this Weekend

Keep an eye out for gardening deals this weekend! I’ve noticed a lot of places are doing Black Friday Sales or Pre-Season order sales. Now would be a great time to get your seeds and trees ordered before you are out of money from Christmas Shopping.

This past week I’ve been pulling numbers together and trying to figure out how much space we would need to grow 100% of our food, then I’ll cut it in half and go from there. We estimated our yearly consumption and only got to 42% of the average yearly consumption per person, so we’re starting there.

I’m not sure where I got this information, but I think some of the yields are off. If we wanted 150lbs of broccoli, it’s saying we need to plant 300 broccoli plants. I don’t know about you, but I have never seen a matured broccoli head that was under a pound. Also, if you cut off the broccoli head and allow that plant to grow, it will sprout two more, smaller heads that can be eaten as well. I really think 300 plants is way too much.

According to their yields, I should also plant 300 green bean plants to get 75lbs of them. Haha, yeah right. If there is one thing beans do, it’s that they produce 10x more than you expected. I think 30 plants would be way too many. I’m going to try the 30-50 range and see what we come up with.

However, I do agree that I might need 400 stalks of corn to produce a large enough crop for us and to share. After the corn is removed from the cob, there really isn’t that much, so that one sounds decent. Succession planting is going to be my dearest friend.

Anyway, I’ll post more on the garden plans later. I’m hoping to get a 100×100 foot space or larger to start with, that should be very easily manageable. I think we could grow a good amount of our food in a plot that size. I will expand as needed after that.

So, keep your eyes open this weekend and in the next month or so for sales. Once January hits us, seeds will start to become more and more in demand and you can almost count on the sales going away.

Be frugal my friends!

Also want to give a shoutout to a great guy here in Michigan starting a seed business. He started on Youtube and I’ve been following him ever since, his name is Luke, also known as the MIGardener. I don’t know him personally, just through his videos. He has opened his own seed shop and they are all heirloom varieties and only 99cents a packet! Go check him out at migardener.com/store.

Don’t forget to subscribe.

Ben

2 Comments Add yours

  1. dreamfarming says:

    Don’t forget to look for deals on canning supplies. You’ll need a ton to store all that food.

    1. I’ve already got my eye on that! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

