Cobbing a wood stove

This is pretty cool! I will definitely keep this in mind if we get a wood stove!

Shepherd's Glen Farm

cobstove5

This is the second time I have cobbed around a wood stove. I have learned a lot after the first attempt. Last time, I used clay and sand from our property. It took a lot of effort and time to dig it up and mix it. I also chopped my own straw. It all was a huge, time-consuming job.

This time, I am using ‘screenings’ from a nearby quarry which is a perfect mix of clay and sand. It also is considered a waste material for them, so was inexpensive for me. And I am using already chopped straw sold for covering grass seed which I purchased at Tractor Supply. What took me weeks to accomplish last time, has taken only a couple days this time. So it does make a huge difference having the basic materials ready and prepared.

cobsupplies

The advantage of cob around a wood stove, is that…

View original post 413 more words

Leave a Reply

