Frugality Strikes Again!

My exact words were “Let’s go to the thrift store, you never know if they have something we don’t know we need.”

I was right.

Here in Ann Arbor, we have a thrift shop called PTO. I have no idea what that stands for, but it’s a pretty nice thrift shop. It’s frequented by rich white people and hipsters, which is really weird, but whatever. They have some nice items, furniture especially, and it’s a pretty decent sized store. I particularly like it because we’ve found some great deals there like our soap crock pot, our dining room chairs and they have a whole drawer of knitting needles and crochet hooks. Heaven.

Anyway, we were out today (we had to stop by the bank) and we decided to pop in to the shop. You never know when they will have something we need. Well today was our lucky day!

wpid-img_20141105_122058.jpg

I have been dying for one of these knife magnets for a long time.This one in particular was in an unopened box with the price tag still on it from Bed, Bath and Beyond. It was priced at $14.99 and judging by the design of the package, it’s close to 20 years old. It looks like someone bought it, left it in a drawer and just never used it. It would probably be about $30 now, at least, and I only paid $7. SCORE! Wish completed.

wpid-img_20141105_122412.jpg

My next purchase for a whopping 50¢ was this beauty. I’ve been trying to grow our “homesteading library” and this was a great find. I’ve been looking for a book on tree pruning for a while because I wanted a reference. This book covers shrubs, flowers, trees, you name it! I swiped it off the shelf as fast as I could.

I’ve been trying to frequent the local thrift shops, but with school I’ve been a bit too busy to get to them. Hopefully I can continue to look through them in a more efficient manner. We don’t really have a “local” Goodwill (it’s down in Saline) but we do have PTO Thrift Shop and The Salvation Army. I’ve sort of sworn off Salvation Army for their stance on gay marriage, but I’ll save that rant for another day. The Salvation Army is mostly clothes anyway and most of them are nothing I would wear. Their other sections are pretty small and in poor condition.

When we move up to Grand Rapids, there should be a lot of Goodwill’s around, although we will probably lose all the other thrift stores. Goodwill is a good store, but they are more on the clothes side of the thrift market. I’m tempted to start buying things up and selling them on Ebay, but I have no working knowledge of what things are good and what they are worth. Oh well.

Anyway, that’s it for frugality this week. Hopefully we find more great things like this in the future! Also, if you’re looking for books, Thriftbooks.com is great! (no they didn’t pay me to say that). They have free shipping all the time and decently priced books on all subjects!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

10 Comments Add yours

  1. aduclos says:

    The first thing I saw was knife, plug… what? but then I realized you were talking about the magnet strip 🙂
    I’m trying to increase my homesteading library too! Any books you recommend? I’m about to start reading “The Backyard Homestead” and have “Mini Farming” after that.

    1. I have both those books on the floor next to my bed right now! I would suggest, if you like no-till gardening, Lasagna Gardening by Patricia Lanza. If you want to hear people’s stories, read “Chickens in the Road” or “The Dirty Life”, both are very good. I’m still doing book reviews (reading right now) so look forward to more posts on the subject!

  2. permiechick says:

    My hubby was just saying that he would love a magnetic knife holder for the cabin. What a great find!

    1. It was! Since we have such limited counter space here in the apartment, it’s great to get that bulky knife block out of the way. I might even get a second magnet when we move to keep all the other little knives on

  3. taylorfamilyurbanfarm says:

    I’m so jealous! I keep telling my husband we need one and to make it…

    1. haha, tell him to get to it!

  4. I love this “You never know if they have something we don’t know we need.” I will have to remember that for future shopping trips. I LOVE thrift stores, and miss the one that was local when I was in college. College students ditch the BEST stuff. 🙂

    1. I live by that saying, but only for thrift shopping or garage sales. The end of the saying is “it’s so cheap that is doesn’t matter anyway”.

  5. Been raising a single income family on thrift stores and yard sales for many years. I almost always find things I didn’t know I needed. It’s the fun of the treasure hunt, to the point that I hate retail shopping – not just because of the prices but it’s boring. My kids have also learned the really COOL stuff ain’t at Wal Mart.

    1. I hope to imbue my children with that love (if we get any). I loved yard saling when I was little!

Leave a Reply

