Sunday on the Homefront—The Final Decision

Hey everyone!

Well, it’s official, we are going to be moving back up near my hometown. It took a bit of work, but Justin saw that the goods outweigh the bads and we’re gonna go for it. This is going to be a major upheaval in our lives, but so far, it seems like it’s going to be more than worth it.

Upon reviewing properties for sale up here, we have found that the homes are, on average, $20,000 less than the homes we were looking at in Washtenaw county. They are newer and in better condition AND they come with land. I haven’t seen a home listed yet (in the country) with less than two acres of land attached. After reading all this efficient farming or “mini-farming” material, I could have something eight times the size of what is needed! (I’m reading the 1/4 acre mini farming). This means our plans for chickens, goats and bees will probably come true. That also means a small orchard and a huge garden! We even found places listed, below our price range, with ten acres!

wpid-0904141952b.jpg
Hipster Bunny Frank

We’re probably gonna need at least five acres anyway because our rabbit is a snob. He has come to love kale and only kale, so I’m going to have to plant a one acre plot of it just to keep him fed! We have a hipster bunny. We’re gonna have to get him some thick rimmed glasses next.

Dad also came up with a great idea that I had totally forgotten about. Expanding my studio to hold workshops on the weekends for people who want to learn. Maybe a weekend workshop for people who want to get things done quickly and extended classes for those who want to learn more. All I would need were a couple extra potter’s wheels and I could get started. It would also be a huge source of income (got to think practically). I could turn pottery from a part-time job into a full-time job with extra classes and workshops. I would also be buying a camera and posting Youtube videos. That could increase my popularity, help me fill my classes and bring in some extra income. All things to consider. I also have the materials to build 1-2 Raku kilns, which means I could throw Raku parties and have people come out to get their own teabowls or whatever in the firing! That would be another great way to supplement the business! I think this could really work! It will take a few months to get started of course, but I already have a client base here who is interested.

Other than that, some realistic things have started to set in.
-Washer and dryer….where to get them for cheap…(dad says he knows a good used place and he said we can do laundry at his place)
-Furniture (Justin’s mom is a saint and is giving us some and an electric piano!)
-The move itself will be hard, but I know we can do it. The biggest hurdle we have is finding Justin a new job. But he is still trying to figure out what he wants to do when he gets here. He knows insurance sucks, but we’ll have to see what he finds.

We’re really excited. Everything is looking up! I can’t wait to get here and start ordering my apple trees and teaching my ceramics classes!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Do you have FreeCycle or Freegle in the States? (In case anyone doesn’t know, they are sites which advertise what people are giving away locally for free!) They are fantastic for furniture and white goods – especially if you are collecting for a future move rather than in instant desperate need. Remember if you use them to put your unwanted stuff on there too! X

    1. we have a freecycle, I’ve been looking at it periodically. I’ll keep checking. Dad has been kind enough to let us store things in his garage.

  2. maggie says:

    Love that you’re factoring into your requirements your hipster bunny’s love for kale 🙂

    1. If you spent as much money on kale as we did, you would too! Lol. 🙂

  3. dreamfarming says:

    Picturing a bunny wearing a hipster outfit complete with skinny striped scarf and ironic t-shirt cracks me up.

    1. It’s gonna happen if we can get him to quit being so damn grumpy!

Leave a Reply

