Sunday on the Homefront—Thoughts

road fall autumn path colors

Hey everybody,

We’re still here, enjoying the nice weather and thinking about what to do with our futures. The days are getting shorter and colder, but I find myself lost in thought about our future home and where it will be. I mentioned last week that I told Justin I wanted to move back up near Grand Rapids, MI. After a week and some pretty intense conversations, he’s almost convinced, but still worried about finding a new job. I understand it completely, although I will confess myself impatient. I’ve never been a very patient person, but I’m trying to be for him. At this point in our lives, his job is the only thing keeping us alive, I understand that’s hard for him to give up. I’ve been unemployed and in school for over a year now and I’m just ready to leave. Everyone has made it very clear that they have no intentions of hiring me. As Justin said to me Friday night, “We could plaster the apartment complex with the amount of resumes you have sent out”. Our current city of residence is just saturated with creative people and college kids. The possibility of me getting a job that’s not downright miserable is nonexistent. I’ve even applied to the miserable jobs…they don’t want me either.

But anyway, enough about my job troubles. There were some new things I thought about throughout the week and research I did that has given us a clearer picture of what it would be like to move back up to G.R.

-Our auto insurance will increase. This is almost expected since we will be moving to a rural area that has a smaller pool to draw claims from. $100,000 worth of claims from 100 people, costs more than $100,000 from 1000 people. (We’re both certified insurance agents) Either way, we’ve run a few zip codes and found that our increase won’t be nearly as high as what it would be if we moved to some areas around our current location.

-Housing costs will decrease. This was unexpected, but a great surprise. The housing market in rural areas is much slower than city areas. Also, Washtenaw County (where we currently live) has the highest Average Median Income in the whole state. That means that everything is more expensive, especially housing.

-Taxes with decrease significantly. The millage rate near my dad is literally half of what it is here. That’s a huge bonus, especially if we come up with land on our property.

-We can get more house with land. 65% of the listings up near G.R. have land attached to them, while only 10% of the ones down here have more than half an acre. I don’t need a lot, but having 2 acres means I can start my own orchard and have some bigger animals if I like (pigs, chickens, goats, bees).

-Support system. I know I mentioned this last week, but moving up near G.R. means that we will have a support system. We have many mutual friends from college up there, I have friends from high school and family up there. We will have a large ring of support to call on if we need help for any reason. There is a community there. Here, near Ann Arbor, if you act friendly towards people, they are suspicious. There is no community here.

-Pottery Studio and shows. I have a whole bunch of contacts and clients in G.R. for my pottery. We would be able to find a house with more to offer for studio space and we could put up a sign! “Handmade Pottery, come on in!”. Did you know, there are people still stopping at my Dad’s house trying to buy my pottery? I haven’t lived there in 3 years and I still have fans, that’s awesome.

lavender herb garden gardening

I find myself thinking about the garden most of all. What I’m going to plant and how I’m going to do it and where I’m gonna get the supplies for free. Even if we move in at a time where putting in a garden isn’t exactly the way I want to do it, I will do what I can for the first year and then get it really set up in the fall for the following year. I can’t wait to share all the pictures with you guys and show you what I’m up to!

Well, wish us luck in our endeavors. We plan to make a final decision by the end of December and then put everything into motion. Thanks for reading!

Don’t forget to subscribe!

Ben

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Crystal L says:

    I’m so excited for y’all! I really hope it all works out (and yes, I’ve become a long-distance fan of your pottery! I’m really hoping you’ll be able to ship to SC!

    I wish y’all all the luck in the world!

    1. South Carolina? You should make a trip up to Seagrove, NC, they have some of the most beautiful pottery and pottery heritage in the world up there!
      We ship all over the U.S., so no problems there!
      And thank you! I know it will work out! We can do it!

      1. Crystal L says:

        I love NC…I’m actually just outside upstate SC. I’ve spent a lot of time up there tho because I have a deep lube of the mountains. I don’t think I’ve been to Seagrove, tho, which surprises me…thought I’d been everywhere in NC, lol.

      2. Seagrove is the pottery capital of the east. It’s amazing!

      3. Crystal L says:

        I’m definitely going to have to check it out!

  2. Good luck with your move and sounds positive. When you find other growers in an area there am sure it might help you stock a new plot. I have been very lucky here in Spain with local ecological gardeners and have been able to share some of the plants and use native species. Love the pots and must try the cake!

    1. Thanks! I’ve actually already started compiling a list of nurseries and growers that I like. I’ve already picked out the fruit trees I plan to put in as well!

      1. Sounds great. Have just planted a blueberry and some elder trees today!

Leave a Reply

