Frosty Sheep

I did not know this was possible….and it’s sort of funny.

homesteaddad

This morning there was a good amount of frost covering the ground. As I surveyed the Homestead I noticed that not only had it covered the ground, but all of the sheep had a layer of frost on their backs. I knew that whitetail deer fur was so insulating that snow could land on their back and not melt because not enough heat escaped from the deer’s body. It would then stand to reason that sheep, with their wonderful wool, would have similar experience. Despite having the sheep since late last fall, they stayed at my brother in law’s house over the winter so when I saw them it was always later in the day.  So I got to discover this today.

Isn’t nature amazing?

IMG_4974.JPG

IMG_4976.JPG

View original post

Leave a Reply

