Witchy Wednesday—Kitchen Witchery

10152489_10205135206288532_19230662992834266_n

I think a lot of people are “Kitchen Witches” without knowing it. I don’t think it has anything to do with magic or religions. I think it has everything to do with soul.

wpid-0920141549.jpg

I think it’s very important to learn to cook for yourself. It seems like a dying art now, I know so many people that can’t even microwave a t.v. dinner.

wpid-img_20141001_191450.jpg

Baking bread is one of the best skills you can have. It’s something so fundamental and it’s lost among most people today. It’s really not difficult, but our lives are so fast-paced now that no one has time to even whip up a quick dinner for themselves.

Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

I’m just going to show you pictures of delicious food and taunt you!

I don’t think enough people cook with any intent anymore. There is no “soul” in their cooking. Some people walk into a kitchen and suddenly there is a whole meal, cooked from scratch, sitting on the table. Other’s walk into the kitchen and a fire breaks out. See my point? I’m not sure if this is a “natural” talent or if it’s something learned. I would like to believe that it can be learned, but if there is no passion it’s probably not possible.

The reason I posted this on Witchy Wednesday is because there is a certain magic that happens when some people cook. I would like to include myself among them, but I’m not that full of myself. If you want to include me, I’ll appreciate it, but I won’t include myself.  Some people have a “knack” for it.  Call it a natural magic if you will.

Now that I’ve gotten this far into the article I really have no idea what I was going to say.

Cooking is a sacred art that people have forgotten. Some are great at it and have natural ability, others should stay away from the kitchen as much as possible. If you are one of those people, call up your local Kitchen Witch and have yourself a nice meal!

 

I hope that wasn’t disappointing….I just really don’t remember where this was going….Happy Wednesday!

Ben

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Ben, the title of your post caught my attention! I agree, so many people either cannot cook or simply won’t cook. Some are idle, most just uneducated. I also think of cooking as an art, a ‘basic’ skill that just doesn’t seem so important anymore in an age of fast food outlets, plastic tray microwave meals and dining out. I love the process of making bread, the smell of it baking, and trying out new and interesting recipes. I wouldn’t say I’m a great cook (sometimes my skills are laughable and on the odd occasion I’ve served something inedible!), but I enjoy it. It’s fun and very rewarding!

    Karen

    1. Agreed. I find that my food tastes better when I have to prepare it myself. When you eat at a restaurant you just get taste. When I cook at home I get to touch, smell and taste my food. And sometimes hear it if it’s frying or experience pain from it because I burned myself. It’s more of a “whole” experience instead of just tasting it.

      I see a lot of “crock pot” meals all over. I think it’s nice that people are taking the time to cook, but it’s like the least rewarding way to cook ever. There is something really satisfying about beating a piece of dough into oblivion and then getting beautiful bread from it. We should start a revolution.

  2. Haha 🙂 the ending made me giggle!

  3. Also, I dont do crock pots often but as a mom with 6 kids sometimes they can come in very handy!! 🙂 we don’t have a microwave, I hate those things, all our food is cooked on the stove or in the oven.. In the summer bbq occasionally. I wish we had a larger yard, I’d build a big fire pit or outside pizza oven!

    1. I want to build an outdoor oven so badly! Wood fired of course!

Leave a Reply

