Book Review: Made From Scratch by Jenna Woginrich

made from scratch homestead homesteading farm farming jenna woginrich
Made from Scratch: Discovering the Pleasures of a Handmade Life by Jenna Woginrich

Summary:
This isn’t as much of a cohesive story as it is a series of short stories with helpful hints afterward. The chapters include such things as gardening, cooking, and some of the authors more quirky ideas like collecting functional antiques and dog-sledding. At the end of each chapter, Jenna outlines ways to get started in each field and even includes some recipes in her cooking section! There is also a short recipe and craft section in the back with instructions.

My Take:
I liked this book. I will say it wasn’t my favorite of all time, but it was good. I liked it enough to check out another one of her books which I will review next week. Jenna, being of a younger generation (closer to my age), has a sense of humor that really jives with me and is pretty sarcastic. I enjoyed her short stories and the information beyond each chapter. I found a couple chapters, such as Working Dogs, to be a little far-fetched for a Handmade Lifestyle book. I would say that a very small group of people have access to sled dogs and even fewer know how to use and train them properly for such work. It’s a wonderful idea, but I think it’s a little irrelevant to the subject of the book.
If you judge books by their covers, you will be disappointed to know that there are zero sheep in this book. Also, I did try out her bread recipe from her cooking chapter and it’s probably the worst loaf of bread I have ever made….I wasn’t very impressed. Tinker with it if you plan to use it. It was very dense and a little tasteless.

Don’t get me wrong, I really did like this book and it was an enjoyable read. The short stories alone are worth reading even if you ignore all other information in the book. Definitely worth checking out!

Overall: 3.75 out of 5. Not quite a 4, but not really a 3.5 either.

Ben

If you enjoyed my article, please reblog and share with friends!

Leave a Reply

