Hummingbird Watercolor Painting by Ben Coffman

Alright, I wanted to show a bit of a step-by-step on this one.

Hummingbird
5×7 inches, Watercolor
By: Ben Coffman

This painting is for sale at my Etsy Shop—Gabriel’s Grove Studios

 

First off, start with a decent sketch. Some people like their sketches tight, others like it loose, I prefer somewhere in between. Something that will show me where to go, but not dictate all my actions. I also use masonite board as a backing, so my work has to be taped down instead of staples or tacks.

0715141310

 

 

Next I soak the entire paper and lay down some color, letting them flow freely to get that nice watercolor-y effect.

0715141327

 

Here I went back and applied a couple glazes to darken up some areas like the wing and tail feathers.  If you look in the wing, you can see where I lifted some color back out by using a dry brush in an area of damp color.

0715141348

 

Still more glazing to get more details in the wings and feathers.

0715141401

Final tweaks to make it pop, mostly on the upper shoulder.

0715141410

Hummingbird

Final scanned piece so you can see how nice the colors are.

 

Not my proudest painting, but this was a learning experience for wet-in-wet techniques and glazing. Thanks for reading!

As always, may the odds be ever in your favor!

Ben

Leave a Reply

