“Let There Be Wine” Watercolor Painting by Ben Coffman

FINAL-web

“Let There Be Wine”
by Ben Coffman

12″ x 18″ Watercolor and Prismacolor Pencil
Roughly 8-10 hours to completion.

If you would like the original, make me a serious offer.

Prints offered here–>http://society6.com/bcoffmanart/Let-There-Be-Wine_Print#1=45

 

This was inspired by Greek mythology. I love Satyrs and Pan and the gods. So I figured I would make something about them.

I thought I would share the progression of the image with you. I don’t have a scan of the original sketch, but this started out as just a portrait practice.

WIP 1

 

This is the layer of watercolors, the first layer. I used the paint to really just lay down color and get it situated in my head.

WIP 2

 

This has a bit of heavier painting in it with the watercolor. Then, I started adding colored pencil work in with my prismacolors. The texture of the paper really worked in my favor.

WIP 3

 

Heavier pencils down and finishing everything up. I tried to really let the watercolors come through in the skins and wood while covering most of it in higher detail/background places.

I hope you enjoyed it! I know I did!

As always, may the odds be ever in your favor!

Ben

 

Please check out our handmade shop, Terra Salts, where we make handmade lotions, candles and bath salts!

Leave a Reply

