Cucumber Summer Salsa Recipe

From Janet Tripp, who is an exercise person?? I don’t know, I saw this on facebook and she doesn’t seem to have a website with this, so I can’t link to it.
Here is her facebook link if it suits your fancy. Janet Tripp by Beachbody

 

Anyway, this sounded really good so I decided to make it.

cucumber salsa summer recipe food

 

2 cups finely chopped seeded peeled cucumber
1/2 cup finely chopped seeded tomato
1/4 cup chopped red onion
2 Tbsp minced fresh parsley
1 jalepeno pepper, seeded and chopped
4-1/2 tsp minced fresh cilantro
1 garlic clove, minced or pressed
1/4 c reduced-fat sour cream
1-1/2 tsp lemon juice
1-1/2 tsp lime juice
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp seasoned salt
Tortilla chips

In a small bowl, combine the first seven ingredients. In another bowl, combine the sour cream, lemon juice, lime juice, cumin and seasoned salt. Pour over cucumber mixture and toss gently to coat. Serve immediately with chips. (They say it’s like 20 calories per 1/4C., but I don’t really care about that)

Recipe Changes:

Alright, to make this more to our taste, I fixed the recipe.

1) I did not measure the cucumber, I just seeded and diced 2 cucumbers with the skin ON, the peel is the where the nutrients are, keep it.
2) No cilantro. Justin and I both hate it.
3) I just used 1 roma tomato and I did not seed it.
4) I probably used a 1/2 C. of regular sour cream, because I AIN’T ON NO DIET
5) Do yourself a favor and just chop your own fresh garlic, it’s 100x better than the canned crap

We tried this straight away and it was GREAT! Then, I had leftover, so I let it sit in the fridge over night. It did get a little more watery because the cucumbers wept, but the flavor is SO MUCH BETTER today now that the ingredients have had time to get to know one another. My advice, make this in the morning and serve it at night, or make it the night before, that way everything can come together!

Also, seriously great on wraps. Instead of adding cheese/lettuce/tomato/dressing, just add a couple spoonfuls of this! So good.

 

As always, may the odds be ever in your favor.

Ben

 

Please check out our handmade shop, Terra Salts, where we make handmade candles, lotions and bath salts!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks yummy.

    I always use yogurt (full cream Greek style – I don’t diet either 🙂 ) instead of sour cream in recipes. It tastes pretty much the same, is healthier, lasts a long time in the fridge which means I always have it on hand and is cheap as chips – mainly because I make my own (it’s dead easy – check out my post for how I do it http://laurarittenhouse.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/easy-and-fast-yogurt-making/) Try it some time and see if you agree.

    1. I’ve been wanting to make yogurt for a long time, I will definitely be giving it a try! Justin’s mom makes yogurt all the time and I’ve been dying to try it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

