New Knitting Project: Harry Potter Sweater

weasly harry potter sweater

 

Image © Allison Hansel
Pattern © Allison Hansel

So this is the new sweater I’m starting. I’m making it for Justin (my darker half). I took some measurements and I’m readjusting and customizing the pattern for him. The original pattern would have put the chest 3″ too big and the length 8″ too long….so I’m fixing it. I don’t really like standardized clothing anyway.

I’ve reworked the back and front of the pattern for him, then I’ll negotiate the sleeves once I get to them. I might sew it up a little high because I’m starting to think a 12″ opening for sleeves is a little silly. Oh well, we’ll see how it goes.

I’m about 4″ into the back piece right now. I’ll post updates as I work through it!

Find the Pattern Here!

 

Update on us:

We are looking forward to moving in about a month or so. We already have our new apartment secured and paid for! I’ve already started going through our stuff to see what can be thrown out and what can be packed away early and so on. I’ve also got to attempt to make this apartment seem like we haven’t lived in it. It was a disaster to begin with, so it’s gonna be hard work. That’s all for now, but I’ll keep updating on the moving process.

As always, may the odds be ever in your favor!

Ben

 

Please check out our handmade business, Terra Salts, where we make handmade lotions, bath salts and soy candles!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lonna Jo says:

    I wish I had the patience for knitting… sewing is so much quicker for me 🙂 Good luck on your project!

    1. Thanks! If I knew how to sew, I would do that, but I’m good to knit right now!

  2. Wife Her Up says:

    Can’t wait to see it! Hit my geek button with this 😀 have you tried spinning your own wool? Super worth it.

    1. I do have a homemade drop spindle, and I’ve tried, but it’s really hard! I had a bad time with it, so I’m letting it sit until it strikes my fancy again. I’m sure I’ll try again one of these days.

      1. Wife Her Up says:

        I use a drop spindle. Its quite fiddly to begin with but once you get the hang on if it, it goes quickly. I do it the cheaters way and twist it, put it in my lap and pull the wool haha its easier and itll do until I can get the hang of the drop part.

      2. I’ll have to try that!

Leave a Reply

