Pottery Progress-Week 1 of Summer Class

Alright, so I have been working!

From my first week of class I have 2 sushi plates, 6 yarn bowls, 1 pitcher, 2 shallow bowls and a jar finished. The shallow bowls need to be trimmed, but the hard part, the decoration, is already done. I plan on working through even more next week since there will be lots of open studio time.

Once these items are fired, glazed and graded, they will be up for sale. I need to raise funds to help pay for this class! I will post when they go up!

Here’s a few pictures of what I’m working on.

pottery ceramics pitcher bowl slip trailing technique

 

This is a simple pitcher I made with stencil work on it. I always liked the old-fashioned shaped pitchers more, but I really need to work on them. I’m just not impressed…

pottery ceramics pitcher bowl slip trailing technique

 

Shallow bowl with slip detail. The red/black was brushed and the white was put on with a syringe-bottle

pottery ceramics pitcher bowl slip trailing technique

 

Brushed black and red then trailed with a syringe bottle. Also a shallow bowl! I’m trying to experiment more.

I would love to get to the point where I only needed 5 or 6 glazes in my studio and did all my color work in slip. I have 2 beautiful clear glazes that I love and I love making slips, so I think it would be a great idea! Then have a few accent glazes for rims and other non-slipped ware.

I hope you enjoy!

As always, may the odds be ever in your favor!

Ben

 

Please check out our handmade store, Terra Salts, where we make homemade lotions, bath salts and candles!

Leave a Reply

