Foraging Adventure #2-Ramps that were illegal to pick…..

foraging homestead survivalism   Ramps….more elusive than you would think….ugh. So, I have spent the better part of 2 weeks looking for these things and I have found EVERY SINGLE LOOK-A-LIKE there is. Finally, this weekend, at Bertha Brock Park in Ionia, MI, I found an entire forest of them. And here’s the kicker, the park is not a State Park and therefore, I cannot forage in it. I did look up the rules and foraging was not allowed. So, I turned away from probably 15+lbs of ramps….blah. But, we went on a beautiful 2 mile hike in the woods, here are some pics from that trip.   foraging homestead survivalism It’s hard to see, but this is the edge of a hill in the woods, it was almost straight down into a swamp and beautiful to boot! That white on the ground is a carpet of flowers! foraging homestead survivalism   This is the hill I used to visit in the winter to go sledding on. It’s massive. If we had inner tubes, we would reach that treeline in the distance, that’s how fast we would get going.       foraging homestead survivalism   After the hike at the park, my friend Josh showed me a new pathway that was built where the railroad tracks used to be in Saranac, Mi. We took a 2 mile walk down that too, looking for mushrooms and ramps. Instead, we found this swamp that I have never seen in my life and I lived in that town for over 10 years. It was a really cool spot! We also found some cool creeks, but no morels and no ramps. Well, no bounty this time, but I have another post coming up. I did manage to procure some wild chives and rhubarb. So that’s coming up next! As always, may the odds be ever in your favor. Ben   Please check out our handmade shop, Terra Salts, for handmade lotions, candles and bath salts!

Leave a Reply

