Wildlife Art

wildlife art barn owl

Barn Owl by Benjamin Coffman, 2013
Acrylic on board, 14″ x 8″

Well, sometimes I get bored in class and I just start drawing. About this time of year (and in the fall) every year, I get really interested in wildlife art again. It’s always been something that I’ve wanted to do, but I’ve never know how to go about doing it. And, to be honest, I can’t paint all the time. It comes and goes.

wildlife art trout

So, this is what happened in class last night while I was supposed to be working on projects. I just started sketching and ended up with some creatures. First I drew this brown trout because I want to go fishing so badly. I haven’t been in a few years and I’m starting to realize how good of a skill it would be to have. Also, how much I can use it to help feed us this summer. I miss going fishing with Dad and being able to relax on the river or lake and also do something good for the family. So, I’ll give it a shot again. Who knows, maybe I’ll even remember how to cast my fly rod!

wildlife art widgeon

Then I drew this little duck, a Widgeon. When I went on a hunting trip to North Dakota when I was 14 or so, we hunted ducks and geese. It was during the fall and I just remember having a ton of fun. The first animal I shot, however, was a Widgeon. I had no idea what they were and I was astounded by how beautiful they were! Dad wanted to have it stuffed, but it never happened. To be honest, I’m not really into stuffed creatures on my wall anyway. This guy, however, might get turned into a painting, I’m not entirely sure yet.

Well, who knows, I might give it a shot and get to painting.

As always, may the odds be ever in your favor!

Ben

P.S. Check out our homemade bath salts, lotions and candles at Terra Salts!

Leave a Reply

