Book Review: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre

So, I decided I might keep a reading list here too. Maybe some of you would be interested in the books I’m reading. If you wish to see a price on any book I show here, all you need to do is click the picture and it will take you to Barnes and Noble.com. I’m in no way affiliated with them, but I do like their stores.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Synopsis: “At Thornfield Hall, resolute and independent Jane Eyre finds fulfillment in her duties as governess, and the love of her life in her employer Edward Rochester. But when a dark secret from Rochester’s past comes to light, Jane must make the most difficult decision of her life: to stay beside the man she loves regardless of the truth, or to embark upon a new life free of the encumbrances of the past.” -taken from bn.com

Classic british literature at it’s best. Charlotte, I believe, is the most famous of the three Bronte Sisters, although it seems like each sister wrote one book and that was it. I haven’t come across many more. Anyway, Jane Eyre was a pretty good read. I haven’t read any british classics since high school, so it was a little hard to start, but I really enjoyed it nonetheless. The beginning of the book has nothing to do with the synopsis, but it really sets up the story and a love for the main character, Jane Eyre. The book is decently paced and only slow in a couple of places. At times I found that I could not put it down and other times, I couldn’t wait for the chapter to end, but overall, very good.

I found the main character to be very lovable and at times, infuriating. Miss Eyre, throughout her adventures, is usually very stubborn and straightforward, but, toward the end of the book, I found her want to please infuriating and unlike herself. I’m not sure what influenced the author to cause such a change, except to maybe torture the reader, but it was a change I was glad to see leave before the end of the book. There are a good amount of surprises in this one and a lot of really good humor. I found myself laughing out loud at a few passages in the book.

Overall: 4 out of 5 Stars.

If you love Jane Austen, Elizabeth Gaskell or Dickens, you’ll like this book.

As always, may the odds be ever in your favor!

Ben

P.S. Please check out our Etsy Shop for our handmade bath salts, candles and lotions!

Leave a Reply

