The Great Bean Migration

So, it’s happened! The beans migrated for the winter….about 3 feet…

Bush Beans

Here they are, the bush beans in their new and permanent home. According to square foot gardening I’ve given them about twice the space they need , which should get me better yields. Also, the soil is laced with rabbit manure, so they should go crazy! I’m hoping for a big crop, because, to be honest, we are beyond dirt poor having to live and pay for an apartment in a college town (especially so close to UofM). So we need these to produce so we can eat….here’s hoping.

Lettuces

 

This is the lettuce. As you can see the Red Salad Bowl lettuce is doing wonderfully. The Buttercrunch is having a slow start, but from what I have seen so far, that’s pretty typical. Looking forward to some nice lettuce since the second bedroom is always on the cool side. It should be nice and sweet.

Basil and Potato

 

Basil is doing fine and the potato has doubled in size. I’ll have to transplant it into the trash can soon!

Cayenne and African Violets

And the Cayenne is doing wonderful, it’s already putting out flowers which will be trimmed off when I prune these plants for the first time.  They need another couple inches before I decapitate them though. I’m going to force them to bush before they start producing.

So…what’s next?

I’m thinking about putting in a tub of turnips and another tub of beans. I think they would produce us the most food for the smallest space. Let me know what you think, I always love feedback!

And may the odds be ever in your favor!

Ben

 

P.S. If you have a need for winter knits (hats, scarves, gloves) or candles (soy/paraffin with herbs), please let me know! I have my etsy shop up and running and I would love to make something for you! You can check it out here!

 

Leave a Reply

